Reviews For Rise of an Empire

2019.12.29 - 03:40PM
47: Chapter 47

And you inspired me to register here. When I came to fandom, most of the series I was interested in were either abandoned or very rarely updated, so it was a special pleasure to follow the plot literally in real time. Thank you for that!
And of course, a wonderful ending! I liked that you emphasized the changes in the Doctor, giving him a choose to resurrect the Master or not, and did`t give him redemption and a uniquely "happy ending."

Author's Response: First off, thank you for joining us on here. It's always nice to meet new people. I know exactly what you mean about stories that are never finished. There are quite a few that I read by many amazing authors that never get finished and it makes me sad. For the end of the story I wanted to emphasize the fact that the Doctor is still struggling with himself and his true nature and will continue to do so for the rest of his life. He could've brought the Master back, he desperately wanted to, but in the end made a different choice. After everything the Doctor's been through and done I don't think there could've been a happy ending. It wouldn't have felt right. Thank you so much for the review. I'm glad you liked my story.

2019.10.07 - 03:29AM
38: Chapter 38

Love the TARDIS. It will be very interesting to see what she does. I hope the Doctor's love for her will be more than the hold the Master has had.

Author's Response: The TARDIS is going to have her work cut out for her. She's going to do everything she can to try and help the Doctor. We'll just have to see what happens next. Thanks for reading!

2019.09.29 - 03:09AM
37: Chapter 37

Great chapter. The Doctor and The Tardis reunited! That's going to be a very, very interesting confrontation. I'm very curious why she won't let Jack in.

Author's Response: After waiting for so long the Doctor and the TARDIS are finally going to be reunited. We'll find out about the TARDIS's thoughts about everything that's been going on. There could be some interesting things happening in the next few chapters that I can't really say too much about right now. Thank you so much for reading. Your reviews always make me smile!

2019.09.19 - 02:37AM
36: Chapter 36

Graphic violence indeed. You have a very good grasp of violence. I think this is one of the most disturbing chapters you've ever written, which makes it one of the most emotional of your Tenth Doctor sagas. I'm definitely looking forward to seeing how you resolve this.

Author's Response: I've played a lot of video games and seen a lot of horror movies. That's where the need for action scenes comes from. I've hinted in previous stories in the series that if the Doctor ever lost the Master it would have a devastating effect on him. The Master's death took the Doctor over the edge, farther into rage and despair than he's ever gone. Losing Ianto is going to have a big effect on Jack and the others. The next several chapters are going to be about dealing with that loss and whether or not the Doctor can be saved. There's still going to be lots of the story left to read. Thank you for reviewing.

2019.08.27 - 02:38AM
34: Chapter 34

Oh, I love the TARDIS! Can't wait to learn what knowledge she's protecting.

Author's Response: The TARDIS knows about something important that will happen soon. In a while we'll get some insight into her thoughts about everything that's happened. I love the TARDIS too and I can't leave her out of the story. She's too wonderful. Thank you for reading. It makes me happy to get a review. I'm glad you're still enjoying the story.

2019.06.23 - 09:57PM
30: Chapter 30

I love when I open Teaspoon and there staring at me is "Rise of An Empire". A good enjoyable one hour read (I usually have to reread the previous chapter) ahead of me. Already looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your reviews always encourage me to write more and write better. I've been able to get more writing done lately and I'm hoping I'll be able to put chapters up more often. I'm trying to make the story the best that I can. There's still going to be somewhere around 10 chapters left so there's still lots of writing to do and lots left to happen.

2019.05.31 - 07:10PM
29: Chapter 29

Still reading, still enjoying!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry for the wait! Real life has been very stressful the past couple of months. There's been a sudden death in the family along with several other significant problems all at once and it's been very hard to get motivated to write. Up until a couple of days ago I hadn't written anything in weeks. Only now am I finally starting to get somewhere with my story again. I will finish it. I'll never abandon a story, I promise you that. Thank you so much for reading and enjoying! It means a lot to me that you still look forward to my story!

2019.04.07 - 08:50PM
27: Chapter 27

I like Martha, but for a very intelligent person, she just doesn't understand the Doctor. Or, she chooses not to. Thinking you are in love with someone can be just as blinding as being in love with someone. I, too, hold out the hope that he can be saved.

Author's Response: Your point about thinking you're in love with someone being just as blinding as love is true. That can happen. Martha did have feelings for the Doctor, but with so many years having passed since she last saw him I think in this story she just considers him a friend. She cares for him but not in a romantic way. She probably notices the contrast with how the Doctor is now compared to who he used to be the most because she hasn't seen him in so long. She wants the Doctor to be saved just as much as Jack does. I can't really say too much without giving anything away but the rest of the story has its emotional ups and downs. I have a good idea what's going to happen but for me the ending is still floating around in my mind. I think with this story I might have to write out a few different endings because I can imagine a few different outcomes for the Doctor and whether or not he can be saved. Thank you for your review. It's brightened up my day. It's nice to know that you're enjoying my story. It means a lot to me.

2019.01.30 - 11:00PM
24: Chapter 24

You do vicious very viciously. Glad you're continuing this, although, without looking, I don't remember you never finishing a story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the compliment! It put a smile on my face. The Master has found the perfect way to ruin Ianto as punishment for escaping. It's probably the worst thing that could ever happen to him, even worse than what he's already been through so far. I've never left a story unfinished and I will definitely finish this one. This story is longer than anything else I've ever written. It's for sure going to be longer than 30 chapters so there's lots more to look forward to. Thank you for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you liked it!

2018.07.14 - 03:44AM
12: Chapter 12

A dish of violence on the side?

Author's Response: Jack was hoping to take the Doctor in and get him the help he needs but it didn't work out that way. The Doctor was always going to fight back. I don't want to give too much away about what's going to happen next but the story is building up to something big and important in a few chapters. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

2018.03.11 - 04:00PM
2: Chapter 2

Wow. The description of what Jack suffered through is horrifying. As usual, I'm looking forward to the next chapter. You do whump so well!

Author's Response: Being thrown out of the TARDIS and into space to die over and over again is probably the worst thing that could ever have happened to Jack. It and every else that he's been through since The Year is going to have a lasting effect on him throughout this story. Thank you for the review and the compliment. I love reading/writing whump. I do feel bad for what happened to Jack though. There's lots more to come in later chapters. Thanks for reading!

2018.02.22 - 03:19PM
1: Chapter 1

Oh, a wish come true; a new story from you!
Thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like it. It's going to be really intense. It's one that I've been waiting years to write. I've been planning it since the first story in the series.