Reviews For Don't Tell Mum

2008.09.25 - 06:10PM
1: Chapter 1

I completely didn't get that "Princess" was Rose. Even when she was talking about her father, I couldn't tell. That element of surprise was terrific.

I agree with everyone else that you got Four bang on. Maybe it's just me, but I could hear his voice in my head. "Mr. Scarf" is a really appropriate name for him.

2008.01.04 - 04:17PM
1: Chapter 1

I know I'm late in reviewing-I really only just found this place *grins*- but I had to say I really loved it...Doc 4(sorry I just can't bring myself to call him "Four"--he's the Doctor, #4; I'm oldfashioned that way, ack) cuteness overload.. and I really didn't twig that it was Rose.. honestly, I didn't. Oy. Great story!

2007.03.22 - 03:04PM
1: Chapter 1

brilliant little story, hehe, Rose is such fun! lol XD

2006.11.28 - 03:58AM
1: Chapter 1

Warm heart...and favourites list

2006.04.22 - 10:27AM
1: Chapter 1

I loved that story! I really liked the way you've used descriptions and made me wonder if 'Rose' is really Rose Tyler. The way You've described Princess is really good, especially the way she sees things, like marshmallow fluff and evil doctors with nasty needles. This is brilliant, especially since it seems to be your first story, at least on this site.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you. \"Princess Rose\" is based strongly on a lot of 3-4 year old girls I\'ve had the pleasure of knowing over my life. Yes, this is my first Dr. Who fanfiction, but not my first story ever, I\'ve been writing for a fairly long time.

2006.04.21 - 06:39PM
1: Chapter 1

That was wonderful. I read it once, convinced it was Grace, then read it again to pick up all the "Rose moments". That was wonderful, really, really fantastic. I loved it!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much, I\'m really glad you liked it.

2006.04.21 - 03:31PM
1: Chapter 1

Very fun, and if you haven't seen very much Doctor Who, the characterisation is impressive :)

This story is heartwarming and at the same time it has an element of shadenfreude...The perfect recipe for a babysitting story, and Mr. Scarf is certainly a good name for the good Doctor.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you for your kind words, they\'re much appreciated. Yes, I\'m very new to Dr. Who so I\'m really happy you think I nailed down the 4th doctor.

2006.04.20 - 08:24PM
1: Chapter 1

I agree the fourth Doctor was appropriately characterised and probably the best of the lot to do child care- other than the second Doctor... but that might be too crazy. I was guessing who the child was with the non-stop mouth of the mother... that was spot on. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Ah, so you figured out who was being babysat fairly early on! I figured some folks might, but I still wanted to play with it before letting everyone know. I figured most folks would start to suspect from the behavior of the mother, then confirm it when they were star gazing. I\'m so glad you thought I\'d gotten four down correctly. That was the most important thing to me. Thanks so much for your review, it means a lot to me.

2006.04.20 - 07:50PM
1: Chapter 1

I have a complaint. Marshmallow fluff should be eaten with peanut butter in sandwiches, not with jelly. I know, because that's what I brought for lunch three years running in elementary school.

Otherwise, it was an excellent story. Four is such a good choice to pair with a child.

There are references pages on the web to explain British stuff to colonists. There's a sequel almost built in that you could write if you've seen the reference to Rose's red bike in 'The Doctor Dances'.

Author's Response: Of course fluff should always be eaten with peanutbutter. That\'s what most people do... however, having delt with toddlers/young children several times in my life, they often find odd combinations to be delicious. I strongly doubt if her mother was home, Princess would be allowed to eat a Fluff and jelly sandwich, but she figured she could pull one over on good natured \"Mr. Scarf.\" Any clue where these refrence pages might be found? I get a big kick out of your calling us \"colonists.\" :-) Didn\'t we put an end to that a couple hundred years ago? Thank you so much for taking the time to review, it is greatly appreciated.

2006.04.20 - 07:32PM
1: Chapter 1

That was the most charming story I've read in ages. Sweet and funny, and it's going in my favourites.

For some reason I didn't twig that it was Rose until I saw the name Jackie. I must be tired today.

For a new viewer, I'd say your characterisation of Four is impressive. I could hear a lot of what he said very clearly in my mind, and he acted very Four-ish - which is always a good thing.
Rose seemed a little too articulate for a four year old when she was talking about the stars, I'd re-phrase some of what she says to make her sound more childlike, but otherwise she was lovely - exactly as I'd imagine her at that age.

My only other criticism is the Americanisms. It does help when writing a British character to use the right words - 'shots' (jabs/jags - 'shots' is used for pets rather than people), 'store' (shop), etc. I have heard of Marshmallow Fluff... Is it American, or worldwide and just not made anymore? Maybe they made it in Britain back in the early '90s, I don't remember. Anyhow, watch out for that. Americanisms, not Fluff. But watch out for that too, I hear it's nice.

This is an unusually long review. But then, it's an unusually good story. I hope for more from you in the future, I'm sure it will be just as enjoyable.

Author's Response: Ah, so you didn\'t catch it \'till you found the names. Actually glad to hear it, I was hoping most readers wouldn\'t put it together until the incident with the stars. The fact that you thought I nailed Four means the world to me. It\'s always nerve wracking when I first \"try on\" a character and show others... but while I\'ve appreciated what I\'ve seen of the other doctors, there\'s something about the way Four was played that just made me want to write this. There are times that he strikes me as a big kid anyway. A brilliant kid for sure, but a kid never-the-less. As for the Americanisms, yeah, that\'s a tough issue. I used to work with a girl who was British, but that was years ago and about the only thing I remembered clearly was that what we called fries, she called chips and what we called chips, she called crisps. She also adored Fluff sandwiches, which is why I thought you could get Fluff over there, but maybe she discovered it when she came to the States. Oh yes, and I remember we had a bit of an issue over the expression \"Knock you up.\" so, I appreciate your correction, especially of \"shots.\" (I don\'t know why we in the States call them shots anyway, it\'s a bit violent to me. They\'re dramatic enough without associating them with firearms.) I did some editing upon your advice. I don\'t know if I\'ll be doing any more Dr. Who fanfiction in the near future, I\'ve got two other projects I\'m working on for other things. But, if I do, would you be interested in reading it over for any cultural mistakes? Thanks again for your review, both the compliments and the suggestions.

2006.04.20 - 12:42PM
1: Chapter 1

That was nice. Sorry I can't be more useful, but I did enjoy reading it.

Author's Response: Well, thank you. It means a lot to me just to hear someone enjoyed it, so thank you for taking the time.