Reviews For Close Quarters

2018.06.30 - 09:45PM
1: Chapter 1

Wow, inbound this after writing in another story that I wanted a Martha story. Interesting take on John Smith being one dimensional & i will be looking for more stories pto see if you expound on their relationship.

Author's Response: I never managed to write a lot of Martha, which is a shame, because I loved Martha, too. Very glad you caught this one. I spent forever trying to get this story right. Thank you!

2017.08.28 - 10:26AM
1: Chapter 1

I'm currently going through what Martha is going through and I happened to come across this fic. I can't say thank you enough. Reading this gave me a break from a very difficult situation. Thank you again.

Author's Response: Aww. Well, I'm very glad that the story helped you. That's one of the best things one can hear as a writer. Thank you so much for telling me!

2015.02.24 - 12:02PM
1: Chapter 1

You've got Martha down so well. Like so many others, I didn't enjoy her so much at the beginning - so many missed opportunities in the writing of the show - but going back and revisiting Series 3 shows what a great, strong character she is. And she shines in your telling.

When I got to the part where the Doctor was telling Martha that he was sick of Rose, I was thinking, "Wow, I knew from your comments you didn't much like Rose, but that's harsh, hon." And then the further explanation, how her coming back snapped everything into focus for him... What an emotional ride in a paragraph.

The quick scenes provide a nice bit of breathing space before diving back into the emotional depths of the Doctor's near monologue.

Thank you!

Author's Response: I always have to try and figure out Rose as a companion, because in cannon she seems to mean so much, but it doesn\'t make any sense why she should. I\'m glad you kept reading, even though that sentence threw you. Thanks for the review!

2014.09.24 - 04:02PM
1: Chapter 1

This fic is absolutely wonderful—great writing, and amazing character insight. I love Martha so much, and you really did justice to her character and tackled issues that had to be addressed… You really showed how terribly harsh Human Nature was on her, both on an emotional level and in the life she had there, then how 1969 wasn't better by all that much and she kept struggling through such a tough daily life while the Doctor was apparently doing nothing that useful/successful, they were both so terribly frustrated and conflict was completely a given. It was realistic and deep and in character and wonderful. I love the dialogue bits in italics you used throughout the story, they were very often hilarious and also quite meaningful, those moments were great to depict.

Inevitable that it would break, indeed, and break it did and the last drop was about Rose. I loved Martha's fury at that point, and how she let him know that she'd finally had enough, her misery after he left but her refusing to take it all anymore. The way the Doctor embraced her was wonderful. The dialogue was wonderful, spot-on, with all the great insight again—about John Smith, the sheet out of a library, how he was created, the void in him and the fact that he couldn't love what the Doctor loved and why he sought out Joan to fill the hollowness in him. About Rose—your view of her was pretty harsh but also very lucid about the flaws of her character, and completely coherent and believable. I love the passionate way he evoked all of that, the reason he was so hooked to and needing her in the end, and Martha's utter shock. The idea is really quite striking, but highly intriguing… The way he evoked his feelings for Martha, and how he couldn't stop wanting the two of them, was also incredibly powerful. And still he couldn't love her the way she wanted and needed and deserved to be loved—but their connection was there… It's just spot-on. Thank you for sharing this :)



Author's Response: Somehow, I missed this review when it came out. Thank you so much! I\'m glad that the Doctor\'s voice came out well enough, and I\'m glad I was able to depict that weird need that he had in a way that you actually understood what the heck I was trying to say. Thanks a bunch!

2014.09.18 - 08:45PM
1: Chapter 1

I was so excited to see a new story from you pop up on my dash. I generally stay out of RTD era fic, and I'm not a fan of Rose/Doctor shipping, and I stay away from Martha fic , so normally I wouldn't touch this stuff with a ten-foot pole--but I like your writing, and your disclaimer made me think it would be good.
And yes it was. It very much was. I love how you interpret Rose (Find Me is my favorite Rose fic ever) and I think this fic is things Martha and Ten needed to say and never did in canon.

Author's Response: Why do people think I\'ve disappeared from this site? The last four stories I put up were, granted, Torchwood stories, (and Torchwood hasn\'t been popular for five years now) and they were celebrated with a fanfare of crickets and tumbleweed, but I\'ve been here. Anyway, I\'m glad you were willing to jump out of your comfort zone, Vilinye -- I always love your reviews! They\'re like little gifts. It\'s always a trick to interpret Rose in a way that makes sense in cannon -- because within cannon, Rose really didn\'t make much sense, compared to all his other really impressive companions. Thanks for the review!

2014.09.17 - 09:56PM
1: Chapter 1

This is quite impressive. I love how you explained the Rose and Martha dynamic when it comes down to the Doctor. In fact, you have inspired me to do a SS of it as well.

Amazing work! All those misfires/re-writes paid off :) I wouldn't mind seeing more of what happened after this.

Author's Response: Aww! Thanks. Of course, what happened after this was just... everything. Life, and what happened after, and then she walked a year alone and learned to live without him.

2014.09.17 - 09:01PM
1: Chapter 1

OMG you're back! *fangirl squeee* you were one of the first writers I read here when I started last year, I have you on my favorites list.

This was great. Of the three women Ten traveled with, Martha was the one who had to be the strongest and put up with the most - and that was before TYTNW. I can totally see your take on Rose and Ten. This isn't even a slam against her as this version because I think selfishness is an underrated trait sometimes, but for someone who knew it would end the way the Doctor did, I can see how she would be getting too intense, too clingy.

Do you mind if I go back and re-read all my favorites of yours and leave reviews? I generally don't leave a review when I see that the last one was over a year ago but if you are active and will read them I'd like to.

Author's Response: I ALWAYS read reviews, and almost always respond to them, unless they\'re like, \"Liked it!\" and left at that -- and usually even then I say thanks. I always have to try and think about the Doctor\'s dynamic with his companions. I actually don\'t know if the Doctor would ever have been clear enough to have this conversation, but I like to think he would have been.

Author's Response: Oh, and by the way, YAY! I have a fan!