2015.07.09 - 10:31PM
1: Chapter 1

I can't think of a fic any better at the slow burn, or the balancing of humor with sorrow. Your prose is lush, the plot crafted and painstakingly timed, and yet it all feels completely organic. That's the clue that you work your bloody arse off for us on top of being natively brilliant.

2015.06.24 - 04:02AM
7: Chapter 7

God, I should go through every bit of this series and review it all (maybe I'll do that). I come back to this story over and over and over again. It's so well-written and characterized and bloody brilliant. (I know it's in the other story but Rose and the Torchwood agents swearing in alien languages and Rose swearing at Nine in Gallifreyan....oh, man. That gets me every time. I love that part!!!!!)

And
The Doctor swallowed, his eyes dark. “It’s just…” he said roughly, “I look for you. Everywhere. Everywhere I go, Rose, I look for you, and you aren’t there.” It was said simply, without blame, but Rose still felt a tear in her heart. “And now, here you are.” His voice took on an air of wonderment. “Standing right in front of me. Shining in the moonlight.”

Oh, man. That is so, so good. Whew. I teared up a little when I re-read that tonight and I've read it dozens of times before. This story (and series) is utterly brilliant and I truly hope that you continue on with it!

I'd love to see Rose meeting other Doctors (maybe some younger ones?) and, of course, maybe their reunion some day and the memories all coming back.

Anyway, this is brilliant, you're brilliant, and I can't wait for more amazing things from you!

2015.04.25 - 08:45AM
7: Chapter 7

This is a great characterization of Rose. One of my favorites! Excellent little story.

2015.02.22 - 07:50PM
1: Chapter 1

This was so wonderful, the way you capture their voices is fantastic. I'd love to know if there is a follow up to this series, once they saved the Earth post-JE and stuff.

2014.02.23 - 12:23PM
7: Chapter 7

-applaud with teary eyes- That was wonderful, breathtaking wonderful

Author's Response: Aww, thank you!

2014.01.30 - 08:28PM
7: Chapter 7

p.s. That little cosplay moment, with Rose in the pinstripes and brainy specs? Priceless. Oh yeah, I can well imagine him lapping that up.

Author's Response: Ahh, thanks! Lol, yeah, they do like to have fun with each other.

2014.01.30 - 08:10PM
7: Chapter 7

Loved loved loved. Joy-restoring moments in the aftermath of horror, reminding them of who and what they were together; wistful longing for more, when it's not yet time for more... All in all, a sweet, wonderful, true-feeling interlude that played out authentically in my mind. I have to say that while I love a good no-holds-barred physical throwdown between them, dancing around the edges of it -- looking in, but mostly with just my imagination, rather than an explicit descriptive -- can sometimes be even more satisfying, more evocative... as it was here. We get the idea of how powerful it would be for them to have those stolen moments together, all in the space of a few well-chosen words. I hope you have much more in mind for us, and thank you in advance if you do :)

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! What a lovely review!

Rointheta
2013.11.12 - 03:49PM
2: Chapter 2

Oooh, I like it!

Author's Response: Thanks!

2013.03.13 - 09:12PM
1: Chapter 1

You know, I've read (and loved!) this fic before, but didn't realize until tonight that it was in the same series a "Once Upon A Time There Was An Ocean", which I've been following avidly. So I re-read this one (still love every single thing about it!), and noted the part about the ret-con tape recorder. She tells the Doctor that an earlier version of him (who hadn't met the younger her yet) made it for her, after much convincing on her part. Is that going to be Nine from OUATTWAO? Because that would be so freaking cool! :)

Author's Response: Spoilers! ;) (And thank you! I\'m glad you\'ve enjoyed them both!)

2013.03.11 - 01:44AM
7: Chapter 7

I couldn't remember if I ever reviewed this so I was perusing comments of the last chapter and saw that you said you are working on a Master and Rose prequel. Squeal!!! I LOVE how you wrote their interactions in this story so can't wait to "see" when she meets him in the parallel whatsit world (even though the idea makes me a bit nervous admittedly because he is completely psychotic).
I also just thought of something interesting that I didn't realize when I read this the first time. I just noted in Once Upon a Time There was an Ocean how Rose is not completely the same person that saved Nine in many ways during series one, and therefore not what he needs at that point in his life. It is interesting that here (in the last chapter) she is exactly what Ten needs after what he has been through and in many ways their roles are reversed. Only he can penetrate (um pun sort of intended) the hard exterior that has developed since their separation, but she still has to be the one that remains strong enough to walk away (and I mean any version of the Doctor can bring down her walls but especially Ten here).  It is heart wrenching and I hate that he had to forget this time with her but I like to think they had moments like this during her dimension cannon travels (and that he does remember it later).

You give Rose some GREAT lines in this story but my favorite is this by far (it also shows again how like the Doctor she has become as she is paraphrasing him):

“D’you know what they call me in the ancient legends of the Dalek home world?” She paused for effect and licked her upper lip. “The Abomination.”

The silence in the room was palpable until she broke it by giggling. “Blimey, I’ve always wanted to say that. True story, though.”

Seriously, I wish they had had her say that to Davros in JE. That would have been awesome!! I mean they sort of have her say something similar in Doomsday but it wasn't nearly this witty...
Gosh, didn't mean for that to be so long.  I tend to go on a bit sometimes!


Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! And yes, I agree -- Rose has definitely changed since she first met the Doctor, and since she has been separated from him, she has become very Doctor-like. The show drew a lot of parallels like that, and so I\'ve tried to do it as well. I\'m glad they\'re working for you! :) Oh, and yes, I am working on the prequel to this story. I\'m not sure when exactly it will get posted (there is another one in the queue that I have to finish first), but part of it is already written. (And yeah, it\'ll be pretty dark.) Thanks for such a great review -- you are a very thorough reader!

2012.12.18 - 11:12PM
7: Chapter 7

Oh, this is bloody brilliant! I absolutely love it. Rose and the Master's banter/conversations!! SOOOO good! Absolutely well done. I'd love to see a sequel and a prequel with her running into the other Doctors (wonder which one it is that makes the device for her? I'm hoping for a ClassicWho Doctor although you're completely brilliant with Nine as well and he holds my heart). Well done and can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you! I\'m toying with the idea of writing some ClassicWho stuff, but I\'ve only seen a little of it, so I\'m not as comfortable with the other Doctors\' character voices. Hopefully I\'ll get some free time to watch! Buuut...I will say that I am in the middle of writing a prequel for this story with more Rose/Master.

2012.09.09 - 06:47PM
1: Chapter 1

I enjoyed this so much, I can't even tell you. The Jack/Donna/Doctor traveling trio is beyond wonderful (and WHY couldn't they have done that in canon?) but when you add an intelligent, strong, take-no-prisoners Rose character to the mix it becomes a truly potent concoction. Loved this. Looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Hmm, I hope you mean Martha, lol! And that part really did happen in canon! But I\'m glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing!

2012.07.03 - 01:32AM
1: Chapter 1

Absolutely fantastic! It's such a joy to have Rose be such a smart, intelligent, independent character.

Author's Response: And thanks again! :)

2012.07.03 - 01:31AM
1: Chapter 1

Absolutely fantastic! It's such a joy to have Rose be such a smart, intelligent, independent character.

Author's Response: Thank you! I love the glimpses we get of her character in S4.

2012.06.18 - 04:08PM
7: Chapter 7

I'm hoping you're going to continue with this. It's just amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! This particular story is finished, but there will be more in the series. In fact, I have three more of the stories partially written plus several more prompts at the ready. It\'s just a matter of time...