Reviews For Incandescent

2020.03.24 - 11:37PM
1: Chapter 1

Oh that's fantastic, that is. I was giggly hoping for a rose-as-goddess as soon as we heard the description, but I didn't expect it to be realized so GLORIOUSLY. And then the mind foreplay and mental oral and Jack's devotion and frustration and the STATUE i love them so much

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This fic practically wrote itself. I really love the Nine, Rose and Jack stories. The opening scene just popped into my head and the rest just came flowing out. Thanks for leaving a review!

2017.09.19 - 06:28PM
1: Chapter 1

Reading this AGAIN! One of the beautiful, iconic Nine/Rose fics ever. And Team TARDIS, and the clever resolution, and the flashback, the pure ogling of it all, guh! Love it so! :*

Author's Response: This one was a true labor of love! I blame it all on my best friend. She nudged me along every step of the way. Totally. Wish I'd thought of the naked, oiled and restrained bit, but hey, it worked. Copyright Dawn Taylor. *snicker* Thanks for commenting. Nice to know people are still rereading my stories.

2016.12.03 - 04:30PM
1: Chapter 1

I am either very lucky or very stupid. I keep finding stories that I could've sworn that I had previously reviewed after reading... but hadn't. Hey-ho... annnywaaay... needless to say, this was truly and wondrously epic. I love love love it. Every single part of it. You have got their characters down pat, the nuances of who they are. The Ninth Doctor was not my first... but he will always be my Doctor. Him and Rose, in the TARDIS. Just as it should be. They really are eternal, the fact that 11 years... OMG... ELEVEN YEARS??? later they still make that kind of impact. This was brilliantly written, with a great blend of humour, story and, of course, the sexing! I seem to be on a real rampage of Nine/Rose fic at the moment... and it makes me happy. Am now happily seeing a tethered and rather well-oiled Christopher Eccleston in all his glory... and that is never a bad thing ( just a combo of him in 'Dalek' and 'Lennon Naked'... ). Happy happy sighs...

Author's Response: The opening scene of this fic was something of a dare from a dear friend of mine, and it just grew from there. I love how pissed he was in that opening paragraph. Reviewing it now, so long after writing it, I'm pleased to see that it holds up well. The plot, so convoluted, with enough comedy and angst was woven through too numerous to count phone calls over a period of weeks, with my friend making more requests along the way. In retrospect I realize that this fic is the product of two women deeply in lust with Christopher Eccleston, one pushing the limits of her writing ability and the other egging her on with an evil smirk. Yeah, even on the phone, I know when Dawn is smirking. The fact that anyone else read it an loved it has just been the cherry on the top of the Nine/Rose and Jack sundae for me. I'm so glad you've read it more than once and enjoyed it, cause I certainly enjoyed writing it. CE seems to bring out the giddy love-struck teenager in me. God bless him! Thanks so much for a lovely review, sweetie!

2016.03.01 - 11:59PM
1: Chapter 1

No ogling? A naked, oiled-up Nine I'm not supposed to ogle? No freaking way. I couldn't be held responsible.......

Author's Response: Ha! This story emerged from a challenge from a dear friend and the first part of the challenge was that it should start with Nine naked, shackled to a wall. She was delighted with the results. I had so much fun writing this! Show me a woman who wouldn't ogle a naked Nine. I don't think she exists!

2015.11.08 - 12:03PM
1: Chapter 1

I'm brand new to Doctor Who, just a couple months into the rabbit hole. I've been soaking up stories on this site like water, favoriting left and right. But this is the first review I've written for a DW story. Your writing was so powerful that I couldn't move on to read any other story before letting you know how much I appreciate you sharing your gift with us readers. Everything about this story was perfection, from the characterizations to the dialogue to the plot. I wouldn't have been able to stop reading this if my house had suddenly caught on fire--your writing was that arresting.

You've captured everything I love about DW, particularly the Ninth Doctor (who will always be My Doctor, too) and Rose. There were so many moments in this that caught my breath or brought tears to my eyes (or both), too many to enumerate without copying/pasting pretty much the entire story into this review.

Before I put a cap on my gushing, I'll say it one more time: thank you for sharing this. It was...FANTASTIC.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for such a heartfelt, lovely review. I've been on a long hiatus due to poor health but I've started writing again. I sent two stories off to my beta last week. Once she has her way with them I'll get them posted. I've always written for the pure joy of it, but that doesn't mean that a review such as yours isn't a pearl beyond price.

2015.07.04 - 07:23PM
1: Chapter 1

In the last few weeks I must have reread this more than a handful of times. It makes me grin, makes me feel good. Coupled with PQN it chases away the blues every time.

So this isn't a review, it's a thank-you.

Author's Response: Thank you for letting me know my stories make you happy. That's the best thing ever. They filled me with joy when I wrote them, both were labors of love. It's lovely to know they're still being appreciated.

2015.01.21 - 10:53PM
1: Chapter 1

I can't believe I never reviewed this! I adore this story, reread it often, and it is absolutely the quintessential Nine/Rose story in my humble opinion. Spectacular!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Hearing that folks have not just read it but are rereading it is lovely. I'm so glad you enjoy it that much.

2013.10.22 - 06:59PM
1: Chapter 1

I could write pages about your style, mechanics, characterizations, the shagging, the humour, etc. Instead, I'm using your own words to illustrate probably my favourite 'thing' about your writing.

You don't lay open just the paradox of the ninth Doctor, his agonies and, ultimately, the achievement of ecstasy; you lay open the essence of this alien, this Time Lord – something you never forget the Doctor is. A thousand hurrahs. He’d just been going through the motions, his senses blunted by the guilt and grief that had become a fundamental building block of the personality that went with this body. But now, today, when he’d finally been given such an unexpected reward for the amends he’d tried so hard to make? Maybe this was all of time and space finally laughing it’s ass off... Rose, curious, compassionate and intuitive had picked up the shattered bits of him and cobbled them together again… Gradually he’d become more like the men he had once been, more like the man she saw every time she looked at him… moody sod that he was, he’d fought it more than he should have… Who could resist… the overwhelming force of her unconditional acceptance? The essence of Nine.

This: She’d kissed him back with a breathless passion that still shook him to the core and humbled him. He wouldn’t have missed that for the world, his world, her world, any world, all of them. -- which is nothing less than poetry – gives us the essence of a Nine who has found love and, at last, grace. (no, no, no pun)

Thank you.


Author's Response: Oh Jer, you write such lovely reviews! I do love this tortured alien, and the most satisfying compliment I get from readers is that I seem to \"get\" him. It\'s just a fascination with CE\'s brilliant portrayal of him, the manic mood swings and every expression that passes over his amazing face, every gesture and movement of his body and each word he speaks. If there is poetry in my fanfic, it\'s a reflection of the poetry of CE\'s portrayal of a nine hundred year old alien, haunted and broken, finding redemption in the love of a nineteen year old shopgirl, who sees his worth. Such a brilliant love story!

2013.08.18 - 05:39PM
1: Chapter 1

Just did a reread on this and still adore it, I really do love all the details.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading it again, and I\'m glad it is holding up the second time around.

2013.07.30 - 09:03PM
1: Chapter 1

Just had to add you and this wonderful fic to my faves. You, my friend, get Nine so beautifully I'm wondering if you aren't part Time Lord yourself :)

Fantastically well-written, beautifully descriptive, and so lovingly crafted, you may have just become my fave writer of Nine!
It's now way past my bedtime, but I'm off for some more of your work. Who needs sleep!?

Author's Response: Thank you! This one was a true labor of love, so it\'s no surprise the love remains visible to those who read it. I\'m not a Time Lord, but I swear my quite human husband has a fob watch with Gallifreyan writing on it somewhere, and he\'s why I get Nine the way I do. I\'m honored that I\'ve become your favorite writer of Nine. It\'s my pleasure to keep him alive in the hearts of those who love him.

2013.07.30 - 09:03PM
1: Chapter 1

Just had to add you and this wonderful fic to my faves. You, my friend, get Nine so beautifully I'm wondering if you aren't part Time Lord yourself :)

Fantastically well-written, beautifully descriptive, and so lovingly crafted, you may have just become my fave writer of Nine!
It's now way past my bedtime, but I'm off for some more of your work. Who needs sleep!?

Author's Response: See above :)

2012.10.30 - 03:02PM
1: Chapter 1

I really liked this story, though I must say, I was a bit shocked that you didn't send them back in time to "start" the prophecy, but am glad you didn't. I really, truly enjoyed this.

Author's Response: Thank you! No, they didn\'t start the prophecy, but they certainly fulfilled it. I\'m so glad you enjoyed this story. It was a real joy to write and I\'m very pleased with it.

2012.05.27 - 11:30AM
1: Chapter 1

Oh yes! I also meant to say the part where the Doctor teaches the acolytes how to cut out his heart just gutted me. So kind and brave, right to the last.

Author's Response: Thank you! I read that part aloud to my husband after I wrote it, which I very rarely do. I was uncertain about it, thinking it was either brilliant or I\'d gone a bit too far. My husband liked it and so did you, so I\'m very glad I left it in. I really appreciate the feedback and I try to use it to improve my writing, so thanks so very much for mentioning it!

2012.05.27 - 11:27AM
1: Chapter 1

This was a really special love story. Thank you for sharing it. I especially loved that they basically saved the future of an entire world because of Rose's love for the Doctor... that's my girl. You captured them really well here (hee) too- the characterization was just right. Good job! I'm so excited I found another Nine devotee!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your sweet review! I\'m very proud of this one. It turned out much more plot centric than I originally envisioned. I\'m so glad you liked the characterizations. I adore doing Nine, Jack and Rose, the chemistry is just so easy to write for the three of them. Yes, I am a Nine devotee. He was my first Doctor and I will always love him more deeply than any other Doctor. I\'ve become a huge CE fan as well. I\'ll watch anything he\'s in, even if it\'s just a tiny role. I think he\'s become an addiction for me.

2012.05.21 - 06:35PM
1: Chapter 1

Oh I love your writing. The storyline in this is amazing. Love how The Doctor confesses all to Rose when he thinks he's gonna die and Rose coming up with that plan was superb. Also pretty hot in places. Thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you! It\'s hard to believe this kind of started out as a joke, just the idea of a naked, manacled and furious Nine. From that one funny, but sexy image came all the rest of it. It grew like topsy. I\'m delighted with the result and I\'m so glad you enjoyed it.