Reviews For Night and Day

2016.03.28 - 03:17PM
11: Chapter 11

I am so happy to see this story updated! It is wonderful to see some of the great WIPs being brought back to life :)

Good thing Jack knows his business so well and was able to understand what was going on in the suite. The Clinoraxi are certainly a slippery race. What an interesting turn of events regarding the Drillia. The Daleks never cease to amaze me as to how far they will go to conquer. At least the Doctor has an ally in his current predicament. Their ability to communicate telepathically is a boon to be sure. Here comes Drah! Letís hope the plan works. Uh oh, I donít have a good feeling about this. How cool is it that the TARDIS is drawing Jack to her! That is brilliant! Rose is so darn cheeky. Loving the remark about her stockings. How wonderful that Drillia sees how perfect Rose is for the Doctor. What a lovely scene where Rose was singing to help ease Drilliaís suffering. I wonder what she has in mind to end all of this peacefully? I cannot wait to find out that is for sure!

Thank you so much for updating this marvelous story!

Author's Response: There does seem to be quite a few WIPs getting brushed off and updated. I'm over the hump now and committed to finishing it. I wanted to show Jack's expertise as an agent. By Boomtown he'd earned the Doctor's trust, but this is early days. This fic is as much about how that trust is earned as it is about the change in his relationship with Rose. I'm so glad that you loved the scene with Rose singing to the Drillia to ease her suffering. It was the one part my husband commented on when he read it. That and the joke about the Kama Sutra. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, darling! It's always such a joy to see them.

2016.03.28 - 12:19PM
11: Chapter 11

OMG! It's updated! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! This is one of my favorite stories.

Author's Response: OMG! Someone still cares! I really do feel awful about letting this dangle for so long. My health has certainly made finishing things impossible until recently. I'm burning the midnight oil to get it done and am so grateful that there are still a few folks out there who still want to read the rest of it. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

2015.09.20 - 01:30AM
1: Chapter 1

I have read this story several times and absolutely love it. I see you haven't updated it in a while, so I wanted to write and encourage you. I'm excited to see what happens next. This exploration of Jack I find fascinating! And the historical element is quite compelling.

Author's Response: I thank you for the encouragement. I really do intend to finish it. I'm so glad you love it. I think I'll love it again when I can get a chapter 11 written that doesn't make me into a cyberman screaming "Delete! Delete!

2014.10.05 - 08:49PM
10: Chapter 10

Not sure if you're still writing, but wanted to tell you how much I love this story! I have a weakness for Nine/Rose meeting an early Jack after they met Jack. Plus, hot Nine /Rose sex and Cole Porter, what's not to love?

Author's Response: Thanks for leaving such a lovely review. I haven't given up hope of finishing this story but I need to find a way past the bottleneck that is chapter eleven. I've started writing again and hope to get too it soon.

2014.04.04 - 01:04PM
1: Chapter 1

I don't know if I reviewed this or not, but I have to tell you that I absolutely adore this story. I really hope it doesn't get relegated to the status of permanent hiatus, because I would be heartbroken. Whenever I think of the works in progress I hope to see updated, this is one of the first that comes to mind.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely comment! I\'ve been in a horrific amount of pain for the past couple of years, and on so many drugs to combat my chronic arthritis that writing has been nearly impossible. Miraculously, getting bilateral total knee replacement on April 15th has diminished my pain to a mere fraction of what it has been for decades! My lovely, straight, shiny new titanium knees that don\'t cause me agonizing pain every time I move them are fantastic! (Imagine Nine grinning his most gleeful manic smile as he says that) Next best thing to nanogenes, really. So while I have a rather intense month of rehab ahead of me, I\'m hopeful that I can eventually finish This fic and continue writing the rest of the stories in the Trajectory verse as well. I really appreciate you taking the time to let me know how much you like Night and Day!

2013.06.17 - 02:04PM
10: Chapter 10

What does a girl have to do to encourage her favorite writer to update her story? I love this one and would love to read more updates in the future. Love the way you have written out Rose and Nine. If only Ten and her had that kind of chemistry to build on!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I haven\'t walked away for this story, far from it, but the next chapter of this little saga has been drafted a dozen or more times and I\'ve been unable to do what looked so easy when I outlined it. I kind of wrote myself into a corner and need to figure out out to get where I need to go. I\'m going to give it a fresh try this coming week. I do love Rose and Nine and love this story, getting this pivotal bit of the story written has just been a nightmare. Thanks for your patience.

2013.05.07 - 11:59AM
4: Chapter 4

You've got a great sense of characterization and I'm really enjoying the plot--I like my romance/smut with some good old-fashioned Doctor Who universe-saving on the side. Not thrilled with the weird Chinese-Mongoloid-aliens-whatever bit (the racial stereotype made me a touch uncomfortable) but the story so far is very enjoyable.

Author's Response: I\'m so glad you\'re enjoying the plot. I had the Clinoraxi look Chinese because of Porter\'s actual line in DeLovely about getting the idea for the song from a Chinese fellow in Poughkeepsie. That was Jack\'s only clue about what Porter was able to remember from his abduction and his mind being tampered with. My original idea for the Clinoraxi as the alien bad guys in this story actually predated me going back to a line-by-line dialogue review of Porter\'s conversation with Jack and picking up on the reference to his idea for the song. In my first draft outline the Clinoraxi were shapeshifters. I\'m really sorry if their racial similarity to Chinese humans made you uncomfortable. It was certainly not my intention.

2013.02.09 - 11:16AM
10: Chapter 10

After being burned a few times, getting wrapped up in a story only to find that it's both unfinished and abandoned (can you say "In Human Hands"?), I'm very glad to see that this is still a work-in-progress. I will savor what's written and eagerly await the rest of it.

Author's Response: I\'m so very sorry to leave you hanging, it was never my intention. Real life and some serious health issues are partly to blame. I\'ve made dozens of attempts at the next chapter on this and frankly, they\'ve all been just awful. I\'ve not given up, and will keep plugging away at it, I promise. Thanks for caring and reviewing.

2012.12.27 - 05:52PM
10: Chapter 10

Loving this! I hope it'll keep going, because I'm definitely interested in 1) more smut =) and 2) how you'll take care of the bad guys. Also Jack, always Jack. Basically, I look forward to an update! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I never intended to leave this story hanging the way I have. Real life just knocked me to the ground this past six months. I\'m getting back into the saddle again and finally getting around to responding to my reviews. I really appreciate your feedback, and I should be posting another chapter soon. Thanks for your patience.

2012.09.20 - 10:59AM
1: Chapter 1

Just found this story today and devoured it whole. Just lovely--not only the camaraderie and sexual tension between Rose and the Doctor, but the portrayal of Jack's character and the brilliant showcase of Cole Porter. Hope you'll be updating and finishing it soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! I\'m so glad you liked it all. If you haven\'t yet seen \"DeLovely\" do that while you wait for the next installment. If you have, watch it again, if only to hear John singing \"Night and Day.\" I will be updating soon, but there is a lot more to come on this novel.

2012.09.19 - 07:53AM
1: Chapter 1

I have to say, this is one of my favorites. I have read all your work and have enjoyed it all and hope you'll be able to finish. I WANT MORE!! But you've got one of my favorite eras for fashion and style and am thrilled with what you've done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is one of my favorite eras for fashion, culture and style as well and it has been a complete blast doing the research for it. I really lose myself in research sometimes, I\'m such a bluestocking! Fear not, more will be coming in spite of the family issues that have kept me from writing at the speed I would like, I\'m still working on this novel and the next chapter is inching toward completion. I appreciate your patience. It has been a difficult summer to get an hour at my keyboard without interruptions that I\'m unable to ignore.

2012.09.09 - 03:50PM
10: Chapter 10

Just wanted to check in again and tell you that this story is great! I'm really looking forward to the rest! Hopefully there's an update coming soon? =) The card reading scene was interesting...King of Wands would be 10, I assume? I get the Swords reference for 9 but I'm interested to see how the Wands ref. works out for 10. And the King of Hearts....duplicate 10 or 11? I'm going with Duplicate 10, I think but who knows! Great job, looking forward to more!

Author's Response: I\'m really glad you liked the card reading scene. I\'ve been reading cards for over twenty years now and because there\'s a lot more coming in this novel yet I\'m not going to give away any spoilers except to say that even though this is a novel and obviously not in the PQN universe, the Rose in that universe had the exact same reading that this one did but both have very different futures, each getting her unique \"happily ever after.\" There will be a couple of stories to follow up on Rose, Jack and Nine after the events of this novel and there will be a happily ever after finale as well in the fullness of time.

2012.08.15 - 10:51AM
10: Chapter 10

This story is absolutely amazing! I'm going to need to go back and properly review all the chapters, but because I just added this as a fave, I felt it would be rude not to leave an initial review. I'll write more when I'm not on a tablet with a crappy on-screen keyboard. Kudos to you for a job well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! In July my father was hospitalized with renal failure, liver failure, and atrial fib, along with his diabetes being way out of control. He was in the process of selling his second home in Florida at the time so he spent the rest of the summer in Bethesda hospital in Boynton Beach or at Hamlin Place, the wonderful rehab facility in Lantana. He was diagnosed with adenocarcinoma cancer of the common bile duct with mets to his lungs in Florida and had several surgical procedures to deal with it. He\'s back home in Missouri now, but was just back in CCU again for a week with pneumonia. Dealing with all this has really cut into the time I\'m able to spend on writing, but I have the next chapter of this novel half done and I haven\'t forgotten about it. Thank you for your lovely review and rest assured that there is much more to come in this story.

2012.07.29 - 10:40PM
10: Chapter 10

This is my new favorite thing ever, for all time. I actually just made an account here, roughly two minutes ago, for the sole purpose of writing this review. I love everything you write, and I think that the only suitable word for your way of representing emotions is "fantastic". Absolutely fantastic, and I love the way you somehow manage to sneak a plot into every single story that you write. "Night and Day" is brilliant so far and I can't wait to see where you take our heroes. Thank you for doing what you do so well.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Real life has been intruding rather badly into this novel, but I\'ll get the next chapter up as soon as humanly possible, I swear. My father has been very sick and he was just diagnosed with cancer in two different sites in his body, so things have been quite hectic around here. I had to fly to Florida last month where he\'s in hospital to relieve my daughter who had been there with my father for two weeks. I took my laptop with me but I didn\'t get much writing done, the days were just so full of the choosing of a rehab facility for Dad when he\'s eventually well enough to be discharged from the hospital. I carried my trusty Macbook all over West Palm Beach and suddenly July was gone and the next chapter of \"Night and Day\" is still half finished. I appreciate your review more than you know, and I\'m so glad you\'re enjoying this one. I have the rest of the novel all plotted out, and I think the best is yet to come on this one. Thanks for your patience.

2012.07.02 - 10:47PM
6: Chapter 6

Great! I'm loving this story! But...selfishly, I hope it's not headed for a Jack/Rose/Nine coupling (tri-pling?)...I've never been into those and I love this story too much to give it up. (Puppy dog eyes)

Author's Response: *Laughing* Fear not, neither Rose or Nine are going to be having a sexual relationship with anyone but each other in this story. Jack may have managed to get a purely physical response out of Nine when he snogged him in the closet, but Jack was also aware even at the time that Nine\'s response was purely physical. Even on such short acquaintance, Jack had already seen Nine and Rose interacting enough to realize that he doesn\'t stand a chance with either of them. It won\'t stop him from flirting with and teasing both of them, but he knows true love when he sees it and he\'s not the kind of man to try to interfere with it.