2021.03.21 - 04:59AM
15: Chapter 15

i will just.

be over here screaming a lot. holy shit.

*flails a lot*

also i adore your take on the Corsair

Author's Response: Thanks so much, so glad you enjoyed it!

2021.03.15 - 10:47PM
15: Chapter 15

Didn't quite see that ending coming!
This has been an amazing endeavour and THANK YOU for finishing it; a fantastic read from start to finish and a highlight on Teaspoon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading through to the end! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

2021.03.15 - 09:54PM
15: Chapter 15

What a perfect ending, and much happier than I was expecting! It feels just right. What a ride this story has been - I'm going to miss it. Thank you for writing this!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and leaving all your wonderful reviews! I'm so glad you enjoyed the end!

2020.12.20 - 01:43PM
14: Chapter 14

What a twist.
Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

2020.12.14 - 11:58PM
14: Chapter 14

Well. I was not expecting that.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! When I first wrote the Doctor say "nothing in the world can hurt her now" I was sure someone would call me on the ambiguity of the phrasing, so I'm glad it was still a surprise!

2020.11.29 - 06:37PM
13: Chapter 13

Gripping. The end (whatever it may be) is in sight.
Always enjoy your work; evocative, descriptive and dark.
Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

2020.10.30 - 05:46PM
13: Chapter 13

Another incredible chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

2020.05.06 - 08:09PM
12: Chapter 12

Yes! I thought this story was over! Still as haunting as ever :) it's great to see more of it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Working on the next chapter!

2020.04.19 - 08:05PM
12: Chapter 12

Still as good as I remember, and heartbreaking, and messy and violent... BUT still there is hope! I hope their plan works, at the horrible costs they have paid to set it up. And I am supremely impressed at how you motivate the military characters and make them three dimensional. It didn't take this latest chapter to see Beth's self-hatred come out, but as the Doctor mentioned, she's so far removed from self-reflection; she doesn't understand what the Doctor started to show her when she was spying on him and spurned it all to ruinous effect. She'll never even realize how much she lost. And that's not to say that I like her character. Obviously she is a pure monster. But she's kind of like the Master in that way -- a more brutal version -- someone the Doctor tried to help but couldn't save, who will hate him for showing them what they might have become, and who he can never quite stop seeing as at the least, human.

Anyhow, that was a lot to say about Beth Shaw. The give and go between the Doctor and SJ is this kind of delicate dance amid the brutality... but I still hope that whatever long game the Doctor is playing, he and SJ can win it and escape.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm so glad you're enjoying Beth's characterization; she's one of my absolute favorites to write. :)

2020.04.18 - 10:47PM
12: Chapter 12

ooh, I fell away from this story but I am going to have to take some time to re-read this from the beginning with the new chapter(s) up!

Author's Response: Yay, hope you enjoy!

2020.01.03 - 08:15PM
11: Chapter 11

I... Wow. This is the second time I've read this story. I didn't review the first time because I didn't know what to say. I still don't, except that this a story I think about a lot, long after I finish reading it. It's so powerful, and disturbing, and just plain haunting. Many kudos.

Author's Response: I got into a bad habit of not responding to comments for a long time, but I just to thank you for your investment in this story. It always brightened my day when I read back over these comments. Hope you enjoy the next chapter!

2018.03.25 - 09:19PM
11: Chapter 11

I (finally) made a Teaspoon account just so I could review this story. I absolutely have to tell you how incredible this was. I really hope even if you've left this fandom, or just this particular story, this review still gets through to you. I was supposed to be up at 6:30am and I still read this at 1am last night, because I couldn't stop once I'd started, and I read it on the train into uni, and I read it through all of my lectures.

Where can I possibly begin to say how much I love and appreciate this? Three is one of my favourite doctors, darkfic is one of my favourite genres, Inferno is one of my favourite serials...! I adore the concept, how you took a shallow-ish mirror!verse and fleshed it out into something believable and completely intense. I love how you treated the violence and torture and made sure we knew what was happening, but didn't need to be gratuitous to convey the horror. I adore the Doctor's stubborn kindness, and Sarah Jane's bottomless determination. Even when she's broken, when she's scared. I love that there is some ambiguity as to how much consent between the Doctor and Sarah there really is or can be, and how much of this is indeed Stockholm Syndrome versus another world, another time, and two people doing what they must to survive. I love how you portrayed Beth, the snippets of her backstory, the way the Doctor saw and still does see her. And just, oh my goodness, the Doctor?! Stuck there, in this hell, with nobody and nothing - and yes, he is probably coping better than our fellow humans, but God. And he's still trying. So much of his actions and desperation make sense in that context - the explanation about the cold calculations. I think I'm rambling. I love this all so, so much. I love how you had many opportunities for Sarah Jane to trust the Doctor utterly, but you let her hold her suspicions, you let her be real and complex and endlessly brave and fallible, too. I love that you didn't shy away from the awful realities of sexual assault, nor did you let that become the focus of Sarah Jane's trauma and survivorship.

Can I be totally honest and overshare a bit in this lil box? I've had an awful week, I've been struggling a lot with suicidal thoughts. This story was the first time in so, so long, I wanted to keep going just so I could read more. I don't even mind one bit if this piece remains unfinished: it stands alone, where it is, as an incredible story I am just so glad I got to read and so glad it was there when I needed it.

You are amazing. Your writing is incredible. Thank you so much. :')

Author's Response: Thank YOU, and I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond. I got into a bad habit with my anxiety not responding to comments, but I do want to let you know how grateful I am for this comment, and how much it has helped with my own mental health over the years to go back and reread the kind things you said, especially this review and the one on my Missy/Osgood fic. Thank you so much for taking the time to write out such a wonderful review. I hope you are well and staying safe.

2015.11.23 - 05:53PM
11: Chapter 11

I have to tell you, I was studying for a final exam when I got an email notification about an update? Guess who didn't end up studying? I am SO excited you haven't abandoned this story! I honestly think it's my favorite fanfiction I've ever read. Ever. And I've read a LOT. You just have this way of writing... Really beautiful, to be honest. You make me get emotionally invested in these characters, and that doesn't usually happen for me. Thank you so much for the new chapter!


Author's Response: What a fantastic compliment! Thank you so much, and I hope you did great on your exam!

2015.11.23 - 01:34AM
11: Chapter 11

I read this chapter on the train on my way to work. Brightened my dreary Monday morning. Perhaps an odd way to describe his very bleak chapter, but Iím so happy you havenít abandoned this story! Excellent chapter. I like the developing relationship between the Doctor and SJ and to see little of another layer of Beth. The Brigade Leader is terrifying! Even more so as he isnít center stage. I really look forward to read more whenever you have the time and/or urge to write. Itís still the best fanfic I have ever read!


Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you're still enjoying the story. :)

2015.05.04 - 10:43PM
10: Chapter 10

I kinda made an account here just to follow this story :3 I love it! I hope you continue it.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Much of my writing is hold at the moment due to work commitments, but I'm tackling this sucker again in August!