Reviews For Knowing

2016.10.20 - 09:22AM
1: Chapter 1

I wish the series had shown River Song with 10 another time other than the Library. This was nicely done.

Author's Response: I actually LOVE River with 10. She's pretty bloody awesome with him.

2015.12.04 - 07:25PM
1: Chapter 1

I very much enjoyed this story. You see Donna and Rose a little differently than I do, but the feelings demonstrated by River ring very true. I hadn't thought about them meeting while he was still 10, but they must have done because she knew him on sight and didn't know that he didn't know her (and wow, that sentence was confusing). In any case, it was a unique take on them. I look forward to reading more. Thanks again. :)

Author's Response: I see him and Donna as very good friends indeed -- family, almost. Rose is complicated. I recognize that she was important to him, but Russel Davies himself says she's inherently selfish. (Not a bad thing, in the Doctor's opinion.) River was based entirely on what I saw in the Library episodes. I'm so very glad you liked this story! Thanks for the review!

2015.02.14 - 09:54PM
1: Chapter 1

As everyone else has said, a lovely, moving story. What a beautiful tribute to Donna, a companion I absoulutely adore, and a very impressive portrayal of both the Tenth Doctor and the (at the time of writing) barely known River.

Given that when you wrote this peice River had only appeared in the two episodes, you did a great job with her. Reading it in 2015, I never would have guessed. You say in responses to reviews that your kept her vague - and you must have done, because my knowledge of (and love for) her character filled in any gaps without my being aware. Amazing writing, that.

Your stories have made a feeling-sick-wanting-to-do-nothing day very enjoyable, thank you!

Author's Response: Well, I\'m glad to fill up a day. I took the character as depicted, and spelled it out from there, and I\'m glad it\'s still held up over time.

2014.06.26 - 11:54PM
1: Chapter 1

God, this story broke my heart(s). Again. (Honestly, Doctor Who does that.) But seriously, it was brilliant. And sad. And perfect. It was a really good representation of Donna and Ten's relationship, whether you ship them or not (I don't), and just Donna as a character.

I am amazed, frankly, that you managed to do this on one River story - I doubt I could have done it on all of them.

Anyway, well done and I love the story. Although as the first story I've read on Teaspoon, it may have set my expectations unreasonably high. Oh well.

Author's Response: Yeah, your expectations will now be insanely high. Even compared to my own stories -- this happens to be a particularly good one. I don\'t ship them either, actually, not sexually or anything. I think they had a very powerful relationship which had more to do with kinship than sexual attraction -- more like a sister.

2014.03.24 - 06:30PM
1: Chapter 1

This is such a thought-provoking story. Ten had that fear in him near the end, and it is a polarizing quality with the fans of Who - some find it compelling, and others find it silly. After all, he's been through regeneration many times - should be old hat by now. And yet, we humans who have never had ourselves radically altered from outside causes at a time when we feel settled in the essence of who we are can't really imagine what this "death" might be like. The angst must happen all pre-regeneration and not post, since, as Ten himself says, "a new man gets up and walks away."

Your story really looks at that fear. It shows how while Ten seemed to be more in touch with his emotions than many of his incarnations, that also brought the bad with the good. Ten has allowed us more of an insight into this alien that has so often been unapproachable in that way. And your story has supported that. And, oh! That ending! Poor River!

Author's Response: Well, now that we know he was really on his last regeneration, that gives a bit more poignancy to the situation. As for fearing the regeneration -- don\'t tell me that Two wasn\'t mortified, or that Six went gently into that good night. Besides, 10 was really young. One of the drawbacks of continually saying how old you are, is that it effectively cuts out all the possible decades that we didn\'t \"see\" in the show. Anyway, thanks for the review! I need those things sometimes.

2013.03.31 - 12:24PM
1: Chapter 1

I just finished reading. Simply an amazing story. I loved the portrayals of the 10th doctor and River Song, and their interplay with each other.

The story was very descriptive. You really did a great job explaining the movement and emotion between the two main characters of River and the 10th Doctor in the story. Very moving!

Author's Response: Movement as in, blocking? Anyway, thank you. This seems to be my most popular story, and mostly it\'s just these two talking at each other, not to mention fighting. I\'m glad you liked it.

2012.11.20 - 01:49AM
1: Chapter 1

Absolutely beautiful. Made me cry for River, for 10, for the love lost that they'd never share. And SO spot-on characterizations, I'm amazed. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you. I do love how their relationship plays out in this story myself.

2012.10.24 - 03:47PM
1: Chapter 1

This story was pretty brilliant – I'm amazed you did this having only watched the Library two-parter, River's character was so powerful and ran so deep here. I loved the action at the beginning, it was well written, described swiftly and efficiently, very catching. I also liked the way you depicted Ten's intense dislike for River's treatment of him. Your characterization of Ten was spot-on all along, you really stressed the difference between him and Eleven, and how the idea of regeneration terrified Ten, really haunted him, the ood in the snow, that feeling of impending doom… That scene was really interestingly handled – it was a great conflict to show, that River is looking forward to Eleven, because that's /her/ Doctor, but Ten hates the idea of changing and is even more enraged by his feeling that she wants him off the scene and another Doctor in his place! He was so furious and fierce and desperate there, it was beautiful. It was also lovely to see River's opinion of Ten, quite insightful to point out that he's a bit self-centred and more readily alone (at this point, at least) than the Doctor she knows.
The part about Donna was truly beautiful, I LOVED the way the Doctor got angry and passionate and couldn't stop talking about her and how amazing she was. His rambling about all the amazing things about her was just so beautiful, and his point about how easy it was with her and how important that is in a relationship was great as well. And then the pain when he evoked his loss of her, after all of that brightness and joy, was all the more striking… That line “She goes for a lot of walks. As if she’s looking for something, but doesn’t know what it is.” had truly beautiful symbolism. I loved the way the Doctor can't get over Donna's loss, can't find anyone else, and the way you described this Time Lord Victorious moment, this time when he truly seemed to lose himself… That whole part was breath-taking, and the part about how incredible it felt, his link to Donna after the meta-crisis, too. Loved the reference to the Master again.
River's reaction was great, and I like the way the Doctor automatically reacted towards her like he would have towards Rose – because Rose is great, I love her, but she definitely couldn't have helped feeling that selfish kind of pain at that moment, that's just how she was. Another great moment of character insight. (I love the way you show the differences and parallels between them all, really – Ten and Eleven, Donna and Sarah Jane, River, Rose…) The comfort River offered him was a really beautiful moment, the detail about her scent, the teasing, but the reassuring, the massaging and the way he eventually fell asleep…
I loved your idea about the Doctor not using the word love because it's different with every person, it's quite creative and fitting his character – and I like the way it applied to her love for Eleven and her love for Ten… Ten's looking at her while she slept, and realizing exactly why Eleven hadn't told her about Donna before, was another beautiful moment. Their parting was really well done – and I liked the way you tied it to the beginning of End of Time (Bermuda!). It was funny and heart-breaking at the same time, and I love the way you closed the fic on River fully coming to terms with the fact that Ten had to die for Eleven to appear. Wonderful work. I really, really, really loved it :)


Author's Response: WOW! That is the most indepth review I have ever gotten and I thank you IMMENSELY for it. I\'m very glad you liked it. It\'s one of my favorites, too. Thank you so much!

2012.10.07 - 11:48AM
1: Chapter 1

Great story! I don't really support the DoctorxDonna pairing, but it was lovely all the same.

Author's Response: I never said they had sex -- EVER. In fact, I don\'t think they did. A sister isn\'t a wife. Thanks.

2012.08.20 - 10:57PM
1: Chapter 1

Absolutely smashing, especially considering the fact you didn't really know who River was at the time. A very good job. ^_^

Author's Response: Yeah, I was surprised by how well she matched -- I didn\'t think they\'d ever manage to bring her back, and when they did, I was glad I\'d left her as vauge as I had.

2012.08.20 - 04:36PM
1: Chapter 1

I love how you seemed to capture the essece of River and the Doctor. I loved the way she drives him insane and hownyou can see her selfless love for him, whih was unlike Rose's. I really liked how the little add on about the scortched mark not being there the last time was flawlessly put in the story. Excellent job wih the timy wimeyness! Im glad you gave Donna such an amazing tribute. I loved her. Overall amazing story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

2012.07.28 - 05:47PM
1: Chapter 1

Donna is my favorite companion, so it's very lovely to see a tribute to her here. I think she was my favorite because she was more the Doctor's equal than anyone else (at least in this revamped series) and that made their relationship amazing.

Thank you also for making it possible to like River Song. I've watched all the Matt Smith episodes...but for whatever reason, she's never held much appeal for me. This story changes that a bit.

Keep up the good work! Looking forward to new stuff =)

Author's Response: River is a difficult character. And I always liked Donna myself. Thanks!

2011.10.25 - 07:11AM
1: Chapter 1

God, you have me crying. So beautiful and sad and wonderful. Thank you.

Author's Response: You know, my stories seem to do that to people. I\'m glad you like it, and I\'d had you a tissue, if my arms went through computer screens. Thanks.

2011.09.11 - 05:39PM
1: Chapter 1

I read this last year and loved it and I have been trying to re-find it ever since. * favorites it this time*

This is a really great character study of Ten, Donna, and River. I like that you presented River as enigmatic enough that the new information from season 6 didn't Joss this story, it just added a new layer of meaning.

Author's Response: Well, I did that intentionally, leaving River as she had been depicted, without making any new information. The fact that SHE has regenerated does clash a bit, because she should understand... but it\'s not bad enough that I feel the need to change it. I actually wrote this before I\'d seen ANY of Matt Smith\'s Doctor, and though I\'d heard River was coming back, I only had the Library to go on. Thanks for reading!

2011.07.10 - 06:31AM
1: Chapter 1

I really loved this. I'm not quite ashamed to say it made me cry, like the regeneration scene. To be honest, I never quite liked the way River Song was portrayed on-screen: she was a character that annoyed me, and what I marvel at is the skillful way you took that here and turned it on it's head, such that by the end of this fic, I'm not just sympathising with Tenth (an easy task, for me), I'm also feeling very much sorry for River.

I think one thing you wrote really well was the presumptive introduction of River. By which I mean that given that we are following the Doctor's timeline, there's a sense of almost deterministic doom to follow - that his future is locked in stone and River is the embodiment of that future that the Tenth Doctor is coming to find hostile.

And he lashes out at her. There's a form of catharsis, a leeching of pain and acceptance here, which to me, mirrors the degree of purgation to be found in The End of Time. I especially love the fact you've saluted Donna here, and how lonely a figure the Tenth really is: at the end, he's being hounded by reminders of his death, and that he's lost just about everyone and everything that mattered, and his little temper tantrum just made him so much more *real*, an old man who's really just seven years old in the timeline, and so afraid because he knows he's going to die. And there's nothing he can do about it except to strike out.

And I think the admirable thing about River here is the way she changes; where you've shown us the positive side of River as she offers him comfort, in some way, and gives him the strength he needs to go to his necessary end.

Thank you. This was really well-written and moving.

Author's Response: I really like this story myself. This one and A Cup of Hot Chocolate are my two favorites of my silly fanfictions. They both address aspects which aren\'t properly explored -- The unknown future of 10/11 in this one, and the unexplored past of Sarah and Luke in the other. What bothers me most about the River Song issues is what bothered me about Trial of a Time Lord (which most people haven\'t seen, and I don\'t blame them, because it was awful) which is that the story is pre-set, and then that pre-set is pretty much ignored. It makes the cannon wavery. River\'s character is abrasive, but so has the Doctor been -- one and six in particular stand out, six having been violent and one being sometimes decidedly creepy. But like the Doctor, I think she has depths she doesn\'t let anyone see.