Reviews For Making Headway

2009.08.18 - 05:18PM
1: Chapter 1

Excellent segue. People have waiting years even decades for the smallest change in someone in this position. And it helps me accept this because I read the next segment. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you. And thank you for your reviews throughout x

2009.08.18 - 04:48PM
53: Chapter 53

As sad as the ending was, It was closer to the truth for a lot of people. Yet I do beleave in hope, but this was a well written story and shows these things can happen to the best of folks. Some for really ludicrous reasons. Noe there aren't alwway happy endings. and I hope this story and the show, Recovery brought this issue to the forfront of peoples minds. I'm going to find out where I can find a place that deals with head injuries so I can make a donation to them.

Author's Response: David Tennant is a patron of the Headway Association which is where he researched his role in Recovery. It\'s a UK charity. Not sure where you\'re based. Thank you for your reviews throughout x

2009.08.18 - 04:44PM
53: Chapter 53

Great story, but as several others mentioned the end was unsatisfying.

What to do in the event of catastrophic injury is one of those things that spouses/partners have to discuss and come to terms with. I can't see the Doctor wanting to exist in a vegetative state (which is what you have described), nor Jack forcing him to. I think he would have tried to help him regenerate and if that failed, taken his remains bacjk to Kastorbourus and the remnants of Gallifrey.

Author's Response: See my response to Foalen\'s review with regards to the thought processes behind the ending I elected to put up. Jack is not forcing the Doctor to live in that state, he is just living it. It had already been established that the Doctor could not regenerate - and not sure how they would have got the to Kastobourus Galaxy without him. Ending is deliberately unsatisfying because you know what - that is life.

2009.08.18 - 04:32PM
53: Chapter 53

I'm actually nearly speechless. This chapter was quite a drastic shift from the last chapter. Jack never gave up hope which is so beautiful but so tragic. Even more so the fact that the last clear thought the Doctor had was in trying to communicate that he knew he wasn't himself. Very sad and there are a few tears on this side. As much as I want a happy ending, and I think everyone reading this honestly did, especially with the small amount of hope when he seemed to be getting better, I hugely appreciate and commend you on the ending you chose. You chose the harder road, but, as you know, with brain injury there isn't always a happy ending, the reality of the situation is often devestating. I was very sick for several years not long ago and I attended a dinner for the Brain Injury Association of Canada. It is so nice to see people paying attention and helping out, spreading the awareness. I will say that this story made me very very sad, but I can't say like others have that it was hopeless. There was so much hope and Jack still clings to it. It was realistic in a Doctor Who sort of way, and in a way the fact that the last chapter is set years and years and years into the future, really does hammer home the effects and tragedy of brain injury. So yes, alternate chapters and happy endings...I'm a sucker for them, I can't say that I don't wish for them, but, I am very privledged to have read the version you chose, even if it brought a tear to my eye. *poor Doctor, poor Jack* Well done, really well done.

Author's Response: Thank you x

2009.08.18 - 04:07PM
53: Chapter 53

I think I know where you went with this. You decided to show another side of someone with brain damge and what could happen. In Recovery, David Tennant's character, Alan, lost his memories and control over his emotions. But, with the help of his family, he excepted his limits and started life over again. In this case, there was no happy ending. And to lose a great mind like the Doctor's is such a lose but Jack, being the caring man he is, decided to stay with the man he loved, no matter what shape he was in, instead of just leaving him behind and starting over. You did a great job.

Author's Response: That\'s about the size of it... thank you for your reviews throughout.

2009.08.18 - 04:06PM
51: Chapter 51

AHHHHHHHHHHH!!! You'd better be glad that there are 2 more chapters here for me to read so I don't have to smack you!! Gah!!! this is heartbreaking!

Author's Response: Sorry...

2009.08.18 - 04:04PM
53: Chapter 53

I just wanted to add something because my first comment was very emotional as I had just finished reading the story and I forgot to mention that I really did enjoy reading this story. It was very well written and thought out. Well done. :)

Author's Response: Thank you x

2009.08.18 - 03:56PM
53: Chapter 53

Sometimes life is just hard and cruel but sometimes no matter what happens you are blessed with someone who loves you. Jack is the Doctors someone...

This was sad and harrowing and at times very difficult to read but brilliantly written and totally engaging throughout. Thank you for this story and your insight into this painful issue. *divahugs*

Author's Response: Thank you for your reviews throughout.

2009.08.18 - 03:53PM
53: Chapter 53

Your the author you have the right to tell the story however you wish.

But speaking as someone who has brain damage there is a little thing called hope that I am very fond of. So I hope you will not be upset when I say that I found the ending very unsatisfying.

The Doctor to me is the embodiment of hope. So by reducing the Doctor to a vegetable you are destroying hope. And that is a very sad thing.

We need hope. My parents were told I would not walk, talk, tie my shoes, or even be able to say my own name. Thankfully no one ever told me that until I had gone and proven the doctor wrong rather spectacularly. So I highly value persevering against all odds.

Happy epilogue....please? I have a feeling most of your readers will agree.

Author's Response: I\'m not upset and I appreciate your views. I had two endings written for this fic and I have just put the happy ending up for validation. I just wanted to explain to you the thought processes I went through in deciding which ending to include.

Author's Response: I could have just put the happy ending up and left it at that, because yes - the Doctor is hope and courage, but he is also flesh and blood. Which means he is vulnerable and he can be killed and he can be hurt. We saw in Turn Left that he doesn\'t always regenerate.

Author's Response: I have my own problems caused by a cyst in my brain. I have a drain in and from time to time that gets blocked and it causes fits and affects my speech. Something I live with is that any fit could potentially leave me in the same condition as the Doctor is at the end of this fic. And I agree with you about persevering against all odds.

Author's Response: I thought long and hard about which ending to post on this. I knew that a lot of people wouldn\'t be happy about this, but it is a part of life. I had a friend at school called Helen. She was one of these kids at school that was good at everything. Predicted 4 A\'s at A\'level. Played hockey for the county, always got one of the leads in the school plays. A week after she sat her A\'levels she was hit by a car and she was reduced to a vegetable. She died about three years after because of a chest infection. There isn\'t always a happy ending. Working with brain injured young adults I have seen the effects of traumatic head injury too many times. I have seen lives devestated because kids have been stupid enough to go skating or cycling or climbing without wearing a helmet. Pointless.

Author's Response: So that is why I elected to put the unhappy ending up. It wasn\'t to destroy hope, but to demonstrate that things can happen. But also I dont think that hope is destroyed. Jack is still there over two hundred years later - caring for him and in my mind that is a demonstration of love and partnership that extends beyond hope and brings life.

Author's Response: I knew that some readers would be angry or left wanting or unsatisfied with the ending as it is. I would have been unsatisfied if I had just put the happy ending up because although Doctor Who is about space and time travel and all the fantastical brilliant adventures of the universe - the heart of Doctor Who is that it is about people - and sometimes people get hurt and they dont bounce back up.

2009.08.18 - 03:51PM
52: Chapter 52

This is not fair! Poor Doctor and Jack.

Author's Response: It\'s not fair at all.

2009.08.18 - 03:48PM
53: Chapter 53

I've just read from chapter 22 all the way to the end and I'm completely devastated! I know you've finished this fic now, but could you please, please, PLEASE do an alternative ending? A happy one? The ending now is just so sad, I can't believe the poor Doctor has ended up like that! And Jack too! The whole story was wonderfully written, I was crying in nearly every chapter, but I really was waiting for him to get better and be reunited properly with Jack! I'm gutted! Well done with that fic - it was fantastic! :-) xxx

Author's Response: It\'s already written. Hadn\'t decided which I was going to post until I put it on the site and still not sure if it was the right way to go with the sad one. Thank you for reading and your comments. I need to do some tweaking on the alternative chapters to make them fit, but will get them up soon.

2009.08.18 - 03:46PM
51: Chapter 51

What did you do?! Nonononononono!

Author's Response: Sorry - get a feeling going to be apologising to all my reviewers.

2009.08.18 - 03:40PM
53: Chapter 53

Oh no! I'm so sad! That can't be the end! *sniff sniff* What a horrible way for someone to go, especially someone as alive as The Doctor!

Author's Response: It can happen to anyone.

2009.08.18 - 03:29PM
53: Chapter 53

Oh! I don't think I can read any more of this... I'm fighting tears here...

Author's Response: No more to read... that was the last chapter.

2009.08.18 - 03:17PM
52: Chapter 52

Just hang on Doctor and Jack don't give up hope.
Fantastic writing and so good that
I am getting so frustrated with the delays in posting on this - do you have this posted somewhere else - or an LJ account?

Author's Response: Sorry, no. Only discovered this site so far and dont quite get LJ so it\'s only on here. Might be my fault that it is delayed because I was tweaking the last chapter about thirty minutes ago while the other chapters were being validated so I might have messed it up.