Reviews For Making Headway

2015.02.09 - 10:19PM
1: Chapter 1

I truly do not know why I reread this. I forgot the ending until about chapter 35. Then I skipped to the bottom and had it confirmed. You are both the best and most heartwrenching author I found on this site. And yes, I have read all your other stories including TD and the kidnapping one and the saga of Code 9. God...please never let me read another saga like your stories. My heart can't take it!

Author's Response: Thank you - I think. Sorry that some of the stories are quite traumatic, but thank you for taking the time to read them and to review. This is one of my favourites.

2013.04.30 - 10:51AM
53: Chapter 53

I loved, I mean loved this story. I don't even mind the sad ending, my only problem with it is I wish you would have just let him die instead. It is horrible to think of such a great mind, stuck like that for so long, regardless of the reasons.

Author's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed the story, and I am sorry if you\'re upset by the ending. It was deliberately set like that, but, there is a \'happy\' fix it ending which is posted under the title \'when a kiss is not just a kiss\'.

2012.08.31 - 08:18AM
1: Chapter 1

What a fantastic story!
I could not stop reading it and, at the end, I cried. It was sad and so beautiful, truly brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing, I am glad that you enjoyed.

2012.01.07 - 03:19PM
53: Chapter 53

Is it cruel of me that I secretly prefer endings like these over actually happy endings? Sometimes things just have to break.
Thanks for this, it was beautiful.

Author's Response: I actually prefer this ending as well, but I think if I\'d not put the alternative one up I would have been lynched, there were some unhappy people after this one, but glad that you enjoyed the story and thanks for taking the time to review.

2011.10.28 - 11:07PM
53: Chapter 53

Beautifully stated and written. Loved how you wrote the frustration, hope and courage of the recovering Doctor and how everyone he loves dealt with the issues he had. Jack's talk with Ianto and Ianto's response is fantastic. In the recovery era, you wrote insightful and even humorous incidents which the Doctor enjoys, too. The ending is beautiful and devastating. Although I hate when people call others vegetables. I teach children with severe multiple impairments and always give them the benefit of the the doubt, even children whose sensory impairments would make one feel that no one is home. It is possible that Jack still feels like slippers to the Doctor and that is why he is still around. Thanks for the wonderful story.

Author's Response: Thank you, I\'m glad that you enjoyed the story.

2011.06.20 - 03:06PM
53: Chapter 53

This final chapter was so sad. I wasn't expecting it to end that way...

After reading this story a few times, I found myself wondering what would happen if the Doctor regenerated. His body's got to run out sometime, doesn't it? Would he be cured, or no? I think it might be a possibility worth exploring.

Author's Response: There is an alternative ending, but it is sad, and in the story the Doctor is no longer able to regenerate so at some point his body will simply run out and he will slip away and Jack will be move on to regain his life knowing that he did his best and I think that is what the Doctor would want... if he could regenerate then I am sure if it was a successful process that he would be cured.

Thanks for your review and for reading.

2010.07.05 - 01:11AM
53: Chapter 53

OMG this story was incredible I cried , it was beautifully written , I was so hopping he recovered but I am glad he had jack

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. Glad that you enjoyed the story. Sorry it didn\'t have a happier ending, but there is the alternative.

2010.05.07 - 08:14AM
53: Chapter 53

Wow. That was amazing. Just spent the last few hours reading that and it was well worth it. And you wrote some really amazing lines, fantastic ones.
“You can’t Jack,” the Doctor whispered. “You’re like slippers.”
That one killed me. Really did. It was so fantastic.
And-
“Lighthouse, Jack,” the Doctor smiled slightly. “Always shining.”
ERRRR who the hell thinks up that? It was beautiful. Gorgeous.
Thank YOU so much.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review. I\'m glad that you\'ve enjoyed the story, and thanks for taking the time to read. You\'re comments are most appreciated.

2010.03.16 - 07:25AM
53: Chapter 53

i spent my whole day reading this and i just have to say WOW. It was so powerful and full of emotion i'm in tears. I didn't think that was going to be the end. i thought maybe he would stay child like i liked hm that way he was seeing things through new eyes. i'm saddened that you turned him into a vegetable but then i understand. The story wouldn't have been as powerful if you hadn't. I love how Jack stayed with him till the end but it bothers me that since jack can't die and now the doctor can't cause well he can't regenerate that they'll be stuck like that forever. That truly makes it sad. BRILLIANT. loved every minute of it but still damn, i think i'm gonna cry.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review, I\'m glad that you enjoyed the story. So far as I understand Time Lord biology although they don\'t technically age as such regenerations do get old... they won\'t be like that forever, one day the Doctor will just slip into sleep and not wake.

2009.11.27 - 02:55PM
1: Chapter 1

Wow. Just spent the afternoon/evening reading this all the way through. Amazing work!

I was half expecting a happier ending (I'm about to run off to read the alternative ending) but those last few chapters are so beautifully bitter-sweet. The way the Doctor was recovering so quickly was so heartwarming, but the way it ended was so sad... Jack gets to live with the Doctor for the rest of his life. Just not the whole Doctor :(

Loved every second! Well done!
*runs off to read your other stories*

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for your review. Glad that you enjoyed the story.

2009.11.08 - 02:49AM
53: Chapter 53

This is very sad, and I wished it could have ended with a better outcome...

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. Sometimes what we wish for just doesn\'t come to fruition. Has been quite odd responding to reviews on this fic. It seems like an age since I wrote it, but thank you for taking the time to read and review.

2009.11.08 - 02:38AM
52: Chapter 52

This is so wrong, he is so far down...

Author's Response: It really isn\'t looking good for him.

2009.11.08 - 02:32AM
51: Chapter 51

lol... you like to pull the rug out, don't you...

Author's Response: Sorry, but perhaps it was just the calm before the storm.

2009.11.08 - 02:24AM
50: Chapter 50

Something is wrong for sure...love this...

Author's Response: Glad that you\'re enjoying the story. Something is definitely wrong... it\'s just a shame he doesn\'t know how to articulate it or it might be solved.

2009.11.08 - 02:18AM
49: Chapter 49

Ianto and th Doctor playing with papper airplanes, now tha tis something to see...

Author's Response: They made a right mess!