Reviews For Consanguinitas

2010.10.27 - 01:59PM
1: Chapter 1

This is wonderful, tragic and touching and above all else very Captain Jack! I've often thought about how similar to the Doctor his immortality must make him feel. But unlike the Doctor, he's stuck on the slow path, trapped on Earth. He can't help but get involved, and there's nowhere for him to run. And the way you characterize Alice, the way she grows up with a father who has basically become a flawed, immortal god, is absolutely perfect. And it made me want to cry.

2010.10.22 - 04:19PM
1: Chapter 1

Here from Calufrax. This was marvelous. Not only did you fill in the blanks on Alice's story, but you gave us a new -- and very persuasive -- view of Jack, and how his life affects those around him.

Author's Response: Alice and her relationship to Jack intrigued me, and I\'m glad you enjoyed my take on both.

2010.10.20 - 07:02PM
1: Chapter 1

Here via Calufrax rec. This was wonderful. Thank you for writing it and sharing!

Author's Response: And thank you for reviewing!

2010.10.19 - 11:45PM
1: Chapter 1

A really excellent personality portrait of a remarkable woman. You did a great job - thanks for writing this!

Author's Response: And thank you for the review!

2010.10.19 - 08:35PM
1: Chapter 1

Oh, this was just absolutely stunning. Your characterization of Alice and Lucia is so nuanced, and the scenes you chose to illustrate are wonderful, and I'm so glad you didn't go for the expected ending. It was just brilliant all around. :)

Author's Response: *beams* Thank you so much.

2010.01.03 - 12:53PM
1: Chapter 1

Having Jack as a father couldn't have been easy, this story felt true, must be what it had been like for Alice.

Author's Response: It was one of the first things I wondered about after CoE, and I\'m glad my interpretation worked for you.

2009.09.20 - 09:00PM
1: Chapter 1

Every single word of this is now personal canon. You do a wondrous job of painting the web of emotions Alice feels toward her father, even before his agelessness became so much of an issue or Steven's birth.

She canít imagine what this must feel like, seeing someone you care about murder your other friends.

I think I said "meep!" aloud at this point. Unhappy foreshadowing!

Thanks again for writing such an effective, moving character study.

Author's Response: And thank you for reviewing it!

CakeorDeath
2009.09.20 - 10:16AM
1: Chapter 1

Lovely little vignettes. You capture Alice completely.

Author's Response: Thank you!

2009.09.20 - 10:09AM
1: Chapter 1

I very much like the continuity of this. I can see how each of these events led to the woman we see in Series 3, like threads coming together into yarn.

Author's Response: I love the threads image, having had only a more clumsy one with fragments making a mosaic at my disposal. Thank you for it, and the review!

2009.09.20 - 09:18AM
1: Chapter 1

I absolutely loved this. You really gave us a great look into Alice and Jack's lives together (for certain values of "together"). Part 3 was especially creepy; not enough writers acknowledge the gut-wrench that must come from being Retconned. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you. CoE definitely gave me the impression Alice had a real reason to be afraid of Jack (in addition to all the other emotions, including of course love, that she was feeling), so this had to be the theme of one part, and when I wondered about a good cause, the retcon immediately came to mind. Because given how he uses it on the show, he wouldn\'t hesitate for a heartbeat and really see it as in her best interest...

2009.08.19 - 08:17PM
1: Chapter 1

I thought this was a fascinating exploration of Alice, not just in your thorough examination of what being the daughter of Jack Harkness would entail, but also because it was equally revealing of Jack. It's like there are two fine character studies here, bundled into the five brilliant vignettes. I thoroughly enjoyed reading each scene, especially the final one with it's connection to the Torchwood history.

Author's Response: \"Two fine character studies\" are what I was hoping to achieve, so your feedback makes me very happy. Thank you!

2009.07.25 - 01:33AM
1: Chapter 1

This is excellent. I'm so glad some one wrote about Alice; she was a wonderful character; I'm sorry we will not see more of her. I couldn't emphasize with Jack at all--I love the Teen age Alice mortified as her Dad gets rid of a suiter by flirting with him. And One can understand her fear.

Author's Response: Thank you; Alice really captivated me, and I\'m glad of the chance to explore her a little in fanfiction.