Reviews For La Vie Boheme

2020.04.30 - 03:52AM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

How delightfully four! The segment about him thinking about his own body right after regeneration was wonderful, as was him looking for a higher authority to deal with the Daleks. A bit of bitter contrast between Ten and Four in a otherwise light fic.

2012.02.02 - 03:27PM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

How had I missed this before? So, so very Four! It's brilliant.

2010.12.14 - 10:57PM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

This is really, really, intensely fabulous. Much love.

2009.08.23 - 05:43AM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

this is excellent. perfect voices all the way through and a lovely sense of humour running all the way through it - even in his death scene, and the miserable burgandy years (love that). this is four. as i said earlier, excellently done.

2009.03.04 - 10:51AM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

Great 4. Really specular. Worth every bit of glowing praise. Might have to read it again, and pay close attention to the non-linear aspect of it.


Author's Response: Thank you so much!

wmr
2009.03.01 - 05:20PM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

Here from cot_reviews to let you know that your story is reviewed in tonight's posting. And to echo that, though you may have made my slow, linear-focused brain work, it was worth it - such a perfect insight into the often dotty, madcap Four. One part I particularly liked was his answer to who a higher authority might be:

“I don’t know. I haven’t met it, yet.”

As I said in the review, that's such a contrast to the Tenth Doctor, who doesn't recognise any authority higher than himself. (Of course, I'm sure most of that contrast is explainable by time, regenerations and the loss of Gallifrey). For me, though, it was a telling reminder of how the Doctor has changed over the centuries.

Congratulations on your nomination!

Author's Response: Oh thank you much! *is flustered* I shall have to click on that link! I\'m glad you like that bit--the whole Lonely God/Oncoming Storm business bothers me immensely, truth be told. The Doctor\'s better when he\'s just this guy, in right place at the right time, you know?

Author's Response: I read the review and ohmegoodness I\'m now positively flapping around in vague embarrassed modesty. You make me sound so good!

2009.02.03 - 01:13PM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

Oh good heavens yes. It's so charmingly achronological and weird and rambling and full of inconsequential nonsense that he probably never even told anyone about and yes, that's him all over. Excellent job. I particularly like the half-novel on the library wall - the idea, and the distraction, are implicit and inherently Fourish.

Author's Response: Thank you! I got the half-novel idea from something Faulkner did--he was an author and wrote a novel on the walls of his house. \'Course, he was also pretty crazy... I thought it quite Fourish as well. :)

2009.01.26 - 10:51AM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

Reading some of the other reviews, I see I'm not alone in saying this, but I'll go ahead and say it anyway. Lovely fic, and my favorite was Leela nad the River. You did a great job with her characterization. The Doctor too. I also really liked the bit with Romana when he's thinking about his next regeneration. Lovely non-linear work.

Author's Response: Thank you! Leela and the river do seem to be well-liked...I ought to write her a full story someday... As for the regeneration thoughts, I stole some of hte possibilities from some weird interview with Tom Baker where he\'s considering reincarnation. It was trippy, but funny. \"Oh, Christ, don\'t come back as an otter, they kill otters! Alright, I\'ll come back as a cockroach.\" serious stare heehee

Author's Response: Thank you! Leela and the river do seem to be well-liked...I ought to write her a full story someday... As for the regeneration thoughts, I stole some of hte possibilities from some weird interview with Tom Baker where he\'s considering reincarnation. It was trippy, but funny. \"Oh, Christ, don\'t come back as an otter, they kill otters! Alright, I\'ll come back as a cockroach.\" serious stare heehee

2009.01.14 - 03:00PM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

Oh, this was absolutely wonderful.

Author's Response: As are you for telling me that!

2009.01.14 - 02:45PM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

I'm here from Calufrax, and now I have to add this story to my favorites. You captured Four so well, and got in some wonderful lines, like:

"He grinned like a loon because he could and because he wanted to."

"He wishes that Sarah Jane were around (or maybe Jamie) so he could prove that he doesn’t go looking for trouble: a group of angry Mayans were the only ones this whole month who tried to sacrifice him!"

"The next day they landed in five especially dull quarries and Leela refused to talk to him for a week."

Author's Response: *glows* Thank you!!

2009.01.14 - 12:27PM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

Here from calufrax. This is a lovely little story, funny but also offering keen insight into Four's character. Great energy and pacing.

Author's Response: Thank you!!

2009.01.14 - 10:19AM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

Here via the calufrax recs comm: this is superb, especially Leela and the river.

Author's Response: Thanks! That\'s the one part I always felt awkward about--but I\'m really glad you liked it! Makes me think maybe I\'m just being too critical..

2009.01.14 - 09:46AM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

An excellent story. The characterization was spot-on, and I just adored the structure. Adding to my favorites.

Author's Response: Thanks muchly!

2009.01.13 - 06:32PM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

You know, it is really hard to get Four's characterization... well, *right*. And man, you NAILED him! The Leela segment in particular was quite fantastic.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! You people seriously know how to make my day!

2009.01.12 - 08:12PM
1: to the second law of thermodynamics and skinny ankles

Completely delightful, and very true to Four's character.

Author's Response: Cool penname! oooh *hides face* Thanks so muchly!