Reviews For The Song of Yarru

2009.05.26 - 03:19PM
9: Epilogue

Hi! I'm here from cot_reviews. Your fic has been reviewed in today's post. Please come on over and have a look!

I love this fic. I'm particularly in awe of your world-building skills; Yarru is as "real" to me as New Earth or Satellite Five. It's a hellishly difficult thing, creating a world and a species out of your own head, and you've done it beautifully!

Author's Response: You\'re so kind -- thank you!

2009.03.01 - 02:19AM
9: Epilogue

Ah, absolutely brilliant! I thoroughly enjoyed it. You handle the Doctor's reaction to violence better, I think, than RTD & Co. They take it too far, so that he becomes a hypocrite (particularly in S4...), whereas I think you find the balance between abhoring violence as a rule and not condemning someone who does what they have to do. Were this RTD's story, I don't think his Ten would have been so forgiving of Anahit, and I think it would have been a poor choice on RTD's part. Deep regret without condemnation is something he has not mastered but you portray it beautifully here.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. :)

2009.03.01 - 12:56AM
1: Chapter 1

Oh goodness, I didn't know this story existed either! Serves me right for not checking my favorite authors on Teaspoon more often. All right, off to actually read it now. (Instead of working on my *own* fic, lol. Such is the hazard of stopping by Teaspoon...)

Author's Response: :)

2009.01.14 - 11:48PM
9: Epilogue

That was amazingly well written!
Beautiful and entracing and yet with that bitter sweet conclusion that links the doctor to both life and death.
Your charactisations were spot on and your dialogue fantastic and clever.
Absolutely loved reading this.
Thank you so much

Author's Response: You\'re so welcome!

2009.01.12 - 11:21PM
1: Chapter 1

I put off reading this one till it was finished! *horrid! I know!* With your fic I have a bad habit of being so enraptured... I just want to read it all at once. I'm so glad I did. This was beautiful.

Author's Response: I completely understand the desire to wait until something is finished! I\'m glad you enjoyed it.

2009.01.12 - 10:28PM
8: Chapter 8

Loved the last exchange of this chapter.

Author's Response: Heh. Me, too.

2009.01.06 - 05:11AM
7: Chapter 7

I love this story - it's insightful and moving. I love the way you've captured both the Doctor's profound love and intense darkness in it - it's important and written extremely well. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

2009.01.05 - 07:34PM
7: Chapter 7

I feel for the Doctor, who must remain unmoved, but is hurting. It's a difficult balance staying the ultimate power of the universe, and a person with feelings. You capture that beautifully.

Author's Response: Thanks. I\'d like to think that this is an example of what he could be like if he let himself go -- protective of Rose or of someone else he cares about. Anahit had the power, but not the discipline or the sense of obligation.

2009.01.05 - 07:18PM
7: Chapter 7

That was heartbreaking, and unexpected, though in hindsight I'm not sure why. Though the Doctor letting her do it is still a bit unexpected. I'll be interested to see where it goes next.

Author's Response: It\'s ambiguous (I hope) whether he chose not to stop her or couldn\'t in time to save the soldiers. I\'ll let you decide. The Doctor, in any case, would both rationalize it and torture himself over it.

2009.01.05 - 05:54PM
7: Chapter 7

I was so happy to see an update. This is very moving.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you!

2008.12.30 - 11:12AM
6: Chapter 6

Oh, I was hooked even before the cliffhanger, now I really can't wait.

And even though you don't have to have read the rest of the series to be enjoying this story, I was glad for the excuse to go back and re-read all the rest. It's a great series.

Author's Response: Thank you! I\'m glad you like the series and hope you enjoy the rest, too.

2008.12.29 - 10:16PM
6: Chapter 6

I've been terrible about reviewing, but have been reading and enjoying. Thought it was finally time to rectify that. So glad Watson found his allies -- but eek! Such a cliffhanger! :D

Author's Response: That was the intention! :)

2008.12.29 - 07:59PM
6: Chapter 6

Ack, nothing is ever easy. :)

(Hurray for Teaspoon, LJ is down)

Author's Response: Oh, you didn\'t think it would be that simple, did you? :)

2008.12.29 - 07:49PM
6: Chapter 6

lovely, well worth waiting for :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

2008.12.23 - 02:52PM
5: Chapter 5

A good chapter; particularly the segment where we see the growing horror of the scientist. (I confess that the twins' husband's reaction caught me off-guard, because nothing he'd said or done previously prepared me for his immediate suspicion of Rose and the Doctor.)

Author's Response: Watson is the type to think and plan rather than just act without thinking through -- but yes, he is horrified. I hope Arri\'s response makes sense in the context of his wife\'s abduction, but I can see why it would be startling. He had no reason to mistrust them until Aiku disappeared, and then he lashed out at a scapegoat.