Reviews For Broken Koan

IrishVampire13
2015.09.10 - 03:28AM
1: Chapter 1

I LOVE the line about the Escher print (I've loved his stuff since I was a teen). It smacked me in the face with its absolute Truth; there, right there, in Escher's talent for paradox, is the perfect description of What She Is as an entity. I don't think anything MORE perfect could exist.

And, wow. I feel like I just went through that right along with her. I've always had that sense of her being violated when he takes over. Monstrous. But he always WAS adept at cruelty...

Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading the story; I share your love of Escher prints, and I'm glad you also caught the reason why I connected Escher with Her. And indeed, what he did to Her ... I've thought the Doctor was foolish to forgive him, but never more so than when he ignored what was done to his beloved TARDIS in favor of the man who violated her.

2012.04.05 - 01:39PM
1: Chapter 1

That was horrific, painful to read.

Author's Response: What was done to Her was horrific, and it was something that kept biting at me until this story was complete. I definitely consider this a horror story, and I can only hope that this is something She will eventually encompass and defeat. But she will never be able to forget.

thebunnyinthetardis
2012.04.02 - 12:43PM
1: Chapter 1

Very atmospheric... powerful and sad. Much of what you explore here was the essence of the Tardis' memory/need, "back story," if you will, in my novella, Harmony--which makes it all the more poignant and personal.


Author's Response: I\'m glad the story struck a personal chord for you; it\'s always great to run into other TARDIS fans out there (and thank you for alerting me to Harmony, as well!)

2012.03.28 - 08:45PM
1: Chapter 1

Here from Calufrax. Beautiful and terrible and amazing and horrifying!

Author's Response: I was going for the horrifying and terrible; I\'m pleased that you found it beautiful and amazing as well!

2012.03.28 - 03:01PM
1: Chapter 1

Wow. Such a powerful piece. You've captured the nature of the Tardis's existence so well. I don't think i'd ever thuoght long and hard on what the Master did to her, and what it must have felt like, until i read this fic.

Author's Response: Thank you! If this made you think more about my favorite Dimensionally Transcendent Girl, then I\'m happy; I\'m just sorry that the Master happened to Her.

2012.03.28 - 02:21PM
1: Chapter 1

Still as powerful as it was the first time I read it. Recced on calufrax:


http://calufrax.livejournal.com/449853.html

Author's Response: I\'m honored by the rec, and thank you again for your reviews here. The TARDIS always has a powerful effect on me, and as a writer, I tried to pass that on, I think.

2011.09.25 - 08:53PM
1: Chapter 1

My breath caught in my throat as the metaphor unfolded and wasn't a metaphor and I realized for the first time what the Master really did to Her. Her thoughts and essence of being are beautifully captured even if I didn't always understand (which, is the nature of the TARDIS). I found the line that she does not need memory because the Doctor is always there especially poignant. And all of it, her inability to live within normal time and her deep connection with her pilot reminded me again of The Doctor's Wife. I think I'll never be able to watch that episode, or the series three finale the same again.

Author's Response: My initial urge was to respond with \"Then my work here is done,\" but instead, I\'d just like to thank you. I was horrified at what the Master did to her, and the more I thought about the implications, the more I realized that the worst possible thing for a being that lives free of Time\'s constraints, that is, in fact, almost an avatar of Time, would be to shoehorn Her into linear time - a little like shoehorning one of us into two-dimensional Flatland. I\'m so glad that this resonated with you!

2011.05.17 - 11:35AM
1: Chapter 1

Ohh our poor precious TARDIS, the Master really was horrid to her and you captured that beautify. My only my defense for the Doctor ignoring her grief is that's what he does whenever he can't to anything to fix a situation, he runs away.

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words - it\'s very lucky for the Doctor that She loves him as much as She does, isn\'t it?

2010.09.14 - 01:22AM
1: Chapter 1

Wow. One word. Wow. The TARDIS is not a machine. Wow. *faves*

Author's Response: Thank you! She isn\'t, most definitely. She\'s beyond understanding, but not beyond loving.

2008.06.27 - 04:05PM
1: Chapter 1

Just wanted to let you know, you've made the Tardis alive for me.

Author's Response: If I could do that - make you catch the living and \"being\" of the TARDIS - then I am happy. Thanks for reading it.

2008.06.13 - 05:43AM
1: Chapter 1

Breathtaking. I'd never even considered it. Wow. *standing ovation*

Author's Response: Ovation? Oh, my goodness, thank you! I didn\'t start thinking about the TARDIS\' wounds immediately, but the thought started worrying at the back of my brain fairly quickly, because I\'m afraid I have a bit of a girlcrush on Her. I\'m glad you enjoyed reading this.

2008.04.28 - 02:53PM
1: Chapter 1

I really liked this - your take on the nature of the TARDIS is a very thoughtful one, and the horror of the Master's treatment of her is brought home vividly.

Author's Response: Thank you; I\'m pleased that others, like you, have thought about the TARDIS\' plight, and I\'m also glad that you feel I\'ve done a good job.

2008.03.17 - 07:10PM
1: Chapter 1

She is an Escher print.
Sheer brilliance. I'm sorry it took me so long to read your work. It makes me even more proud of the reviews you gave me. Thank you, and never stop.

Author's Response: Oh my, don\'t be sorry. I\'m just pleased that you like it - thank you so much for your kind words! With readers such as you, I certainly will do my best to continue producing quality work. The comment about the Escher print flowed naturally onto the page somehow; She is as elegant and twisty - and more - as anything that gentleman ever produced, and I\'m sure he would have appreciated her more than most of us apes. (As for my reviews, I calls \'em as I sees \'em, and I don\'t review that which I don\'t think is worth it.)

2008.01.02 - 08:02PM
1: Chapter 1

So good, terrifyingly beautiful.

Author's Response: I\'m glad you thought it was good. I\'m always afraid that if I go dark, I\'ll go too dark for readers to enjoy. Thanks for your kind words!

2008.01.02 - 06:05PM
1: Chapter 1

Horribly beautiful.

Author's Response: I appreciate the phrase; must be doing something right. Now if I could only write the entire experience out of Her memory, I\'d be even happier.