2011.04.24 - 08:08PM
1: Chapter 1: Mistaken Identity

I get such a kick out of Rose's family and life on earth, and you capture all of their voices so, so well here. I literally laughed out loud during Mickey's rant to the Doctor the first time I read it - it's such a perfect way to info dump some very necessary bits of information to the Doctor while being perfectly in character. This story reminds me a lot of the World War Three two-parter in the first series, where the Doctor learns what he's in for with Rose's family, but they come out at the end stronger for it - it's really a great parallel to those episodes.

And if I haven't said it recently, good lord do I love this series that you wrote!

2010.02.03 - 08:20PM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

Lovely story filled with great lines. (which I will requote in a moment my favorites.) I think I like that the cat is out of the bag when it comes to the Daleks and badwolf. It give them less secrets and a strong foundation.

Okay my favorite quotes that you wrote:

Oh, Rassilon, does that mean I have another style-challenged regeneration coming up? thought the Doctor, thinking ruefully of some of his past clothing choices. I really do need to take care of this body.

Really, it was the most reassuring alien home invasion he’d seen in a long while.

“Besides, Rose is an adult who is fully capable of taking responsibility for herself and when necessary the entire human race.


Author's Response: Yes, the reduction of the number of secrets between the Doctor and Rose is a positive move for them. I\'m very proud of that line about the reassuring alien home invasion. Thanks so much for your comment!

2009.03.23 - 01:13AM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

*sigh* I just love this fic! :)

Author's Response: :) Thanks again! Knowing that this stands up well on re-reading is a lovely compliment.

2008.12.07 - 04:48AM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

Wow. Great stuff again. I was worried at first when Mickey started his rant, but then it all clicked and made sense and was believable and funny. I'm so glad you took the time to have them visit and explore Rose's fabulous family and friends. I miss them and always enjoy good fiction that includes them. Well, I've been happily reading your various fictions for about 6 hours now, and although I'm not tired (got my second wind) I think I'll be rubbish tomorrow unless I go to bed. You write compelling thoughtful and entertaining stories of some of my favorite characters and throw smatterings of other favorite fictional characters in to boot. Once again, thank you for writing!

Author's Response: Mickey, Jackie, and Pete are such fun. I\'m glad you liked my take on them. Thanks so much for the lovely review! You make me a happy writer.

2008.01.21 - 03:42AM
1: Chapter 1: Mistaken Identity

Yay! I liked how it was funny and angsty both; how people revealed themselves, how the Doctor was dithering about whether he should just dump Rose and go off, and how Jackie, of all people, said he should take her with him. And I loved that mixed-up metaphor about sitting in trees.

Author's Response: Why thank you! Three years have forced Jackie to accept Rose as an adult. I like shaking Jackie out of her stereotyped role, but her section took forever for me to get right until I included the tree-sitting.

2008.01.07 - 09:17AM
1: Chapter 1: Mistaken Identity

Oh, brilliant! :D I just re-read this one after seeing your post on time_and_chips of Such Disguise and loving it so much. (I should review it, but alas, I am lazy. Let me just tell you that it was fantastic and I was laughing so hard.)

This is beautiful. Like one of the other reviewers said, I'm so glad you have alt!Nine as his own Gallifreyan, and not just a way to get Nine and Rose together having hot steamy alien sex that seems an awful lot like human sex.

If I ever write an alternate Doctor, I assure you I will be very influenced by you and your originality. BRAVA.

Author's Response: Thank you! Nothing wrong with a bit of steamy Doctor/Rose sex, but there\'s so much more interesting things one can do with such wonderful characters. Ooh, I\'m an influence now. *mischievous look* What fun!

2007.12.26 - 04:54PM
1: Chapter 1: Mistaken Identity

I should long since have written to tell you how enjoyable your universe, and the stories in it, are. I love Nine, and I'm pleased that you've created an alt!Nine who is his own Gallifreyan rather than a two-dimensional wish-fulfillment cardboard cutout. Rose is wonderful, Jackie and Pete are attractive and intelligent characters under your pen, and what's more, your entire alternate universe is fascinating, with touches such as cricket being the American commonwealth's favorite game (brilliant!)
I look forward to more!

Author's Response: Late is ever so much better than never, especially when you write such a lovely detailed review! :) Thank you for all your kind words. an alt!Nine who is his own Gallifreyan rather than a two-dimensional wish-fulfillment cardboard cutout. I love the way you phrase this! The great danger of writing reunion and alternate Doctor stories is making everything too perfect. Stories are more interesting when the people and situations are flawed.

2007.12.26 - 02:24PM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

Great idea with the bleach too, BTW.

2007.12.26 - 02:03PM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

Great! At times like this I semi-like Jackie Tyler. ^_~ Though she's still annoying. hee. A very complex chapter. Loved how you handled the fine line between 'domestic enough to run for it' and 'hey this is fun!' Certainly an interesting way to tell him about Bad Wolf. Hard to not give that some thought. Anyway, thanks for the update and Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: So glad you enjoyed it!!! Jackie used to annoy the heck out of me, but the more I watched the more I found her interesting as a character. I\'m still glad she\'s not MY mother, but I now enjoy watching and writing her. Here I think time and better circumstances have matured her a bit.

2007.12.26 - 09:00AM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

This is a wonderful story, full of inspired moments. And Jackie Tyler saves the day...who would have thought? Brilliant dialogue and character development. You have me hook, line and sinker!

Author's Response: She saves the day without even having to slap somebody! Amazing! Thanks so much for your review. Hook, line and sinker makes me think of reeling in, and now I have to go listen to Love Don\'t Roam. That\'s not exactly a bad thing, mind you! :)

2007.12.26 - 06:10AM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

Wonderful chapter revealing more about Rose and her family in this universe. Jackie is a hoot and a much more calmer version but still with the sting in the tail when necessary. The Rose and Doc dinamic is wonderful to read and I loved how Rose gave him imformation about his alt self and the DALEKS as encouragement and support to him that things are never as bad as they appear. Rose is stronger and wiser as is Jackie and I am loving this series. Am eager to read more. Thanks for htis lovely long chapter that had me smiling all the way through.


Author's Response: Thanks so much! Jackie made a spur of the moment decision to go to Pete\'s World that must have completely changed her life, mostly for the better. Three years have shifted her attitude, but she\'s still very much our irreverent, butt-kicking Jackie.

2007.12.25 - 11:09PM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

This was great. I agree with everything that wmr said, and I love the inventiveness of the monster loving bleach like catnip and how the family took it down. I wonder if the rest of the hive and the queen will be as susceptible to bleach?

It is fun seeing Rose adjust to this familiar and yet unfamiliar relationship with this Nine. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Many, many thanks! Yes, I imagine the rest of the hive WILL be susceptible to bleach, though getting it to all of them at once might prove to be an issue. However, that\'s probably an adventure that will take place offscreen.

2007.12.25 - 05:26PM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

Great chapter! Love Jackie here, believably the same woman from the Powell Estates, but softened a bit by happiness and a good life. Still, she's not afraid to kick a Time Lord's ass if said ass needs kicking. And your Rose/Alt!Nine dynamic is, as always, terrific. "Emo Dalek"--hee!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It took me forever to get the right tone in Jackie\'s combination pep talk/ ass-kicking, so I\'m pleased that it worked.

wmr
2007.12.25 - 04:53PM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

Love it, love it, love it!

Jackie is always fantastic, but even more so here. You do her brilliantly, especially here:
Oh, and Doctor,” she paused, leaning in close to whisper, “On the phone, Rose had me swear not to make you promise anything about her safety. I know she’s an adult now and it’s a dangerous world out there. Still, if a single hair on her head comes to harm and I have the slightest hint that you could have prevented it, I will kick you where it counts so hard your next body will sing soprano. Got it?”

The Doctor nodded, looking somewhat pale. Jackie smiled back at him sweetly.

“Good. We understand each other. Now, what can I get you to drink?” she said cheerily as she exited the TARDIS.


And how much do I love her description of herself as someone who fought Slitheen with a pitcher of vinegar, and her wish that the aliens would come through the front room so she could replace that horrible green sofa? Fantastic.

Your altNine is wonderful :) He's not domestic, yet he carries Rose's brother on his shoulder and comes to dinner. He's secretive and withdrawn, yet he opens up enough - when he sees Rose trusts and respects him enough to let it go - to let her know that he knows she met Daleks. And now they're a proper team and they're inseperable, unbeatable.

Can't wait for the next in the series!

Author's Response: Many thanks for the nice, long review! I enjoyed writing a Jackie who\'s a little bit wiser and more accepting but still not willing to take any crap from the Doctor. She\'s such fun. AltNine is not a tame Time Lord, but really, who could resist the combined willpower of Rose and Jackie? I think he\'s finally done waffling about whether to have Rose with him.

2007.12.25 - 03:58PM
3: Chapter 3: Mistaken Assumptions

This wonderful chapter has lots of lovely humor, lots of serious things for the Doctor to consider, glorious Rose happiness at last, and a much safer Earth as the result of all of it. I ended up with a grin every bit as huge as the one both the Doctor & Rose beamed at each other. This fic went way beyond merely entertaining and straight on to edifying and inspiring. I can't thank you enough, and I hope so much that you continue with this amazing series. You have a gift, and you should always write.


Author's Response: Wow! I\'m immensely flattered. I\'m glad I could bring you some grins and inspiration. Rest assured that I intend to continue this series, although I do write slow like molasses. Sorry about that!