Reviews For Fire Escape

2014.02.12 - 03:43PM
1: Chapter 1

This works brilliantly - so many levels of pain for the Doctor and the TARDIS, and you caught them all in an almost sparse, uncompromisingly factual narration I'd call gorgeous even through the grief and despair it chronicles.

Author's Response: Oh, my goodness, thank you for those words. I tried to keep the prose as sparse as possible, an exercise that always makes the job harder, not easier; every word has to work precisely, every phrase has to resonate correctly. If it works for you, then I\'ve done it at least partly correctly. Thank you for reading!

2011.05.15 - 05:59PM
1: Chapter 1

Our poor poor Doctor and TARDIS! How much their grief but at least they had each other for comfort!

Author's Response: You\'re so right; had it not been for Her harassing him back to life, I think she might have discorporated, and he might have wandered further and further into her until he entered a limbo from which he could never have returned. They saved each other.

2009.09.29 - 07:51PM
1: Chapter 1

Just wow-- that was really powerful. You captured his grief beautifully without ever tipping over the edge into sentimentality. Nicely done.

Author's Response: Thank you for saying this, because at least part of my goal when writing the story was to make his feelings the core of the story, while remaining disengaged from them in a ... the best I can describe the stance I wanted is a positive disengagement, if you will. Your response suggests I may have met my goal, and for that I\'m glad.

2009.06.05 - 05:54PM
1: Chapter 1

Oh, man... I love Doctor/TARDIS, and I love Nine post-regeneration fics. This is the best I've ever read of either.

Author's Response: Thank you so much; that\'s very high praise indeed!

2008.10.18 - 08:07AM
1: Chapter 1

This is lovely. Thank you for your "experiment". I like that you explore the Tardis and her feelings about what happened and for her Timelord. The parts that stand out for me are when she is making her halls as wide and long as she can so he can run, and then when she joins him in hot anger and grief; but also the tenderness between them (the comfort of her kitchen and the tea with sugar, his love and devotion to her as he works, her putting out clothing for him...) ok, well, I guess there are quite a few things I really like about this story, and rather than list them all, I'll just say "thank you" again. I wonder why I only seem to find fic about the Doctor's relationship with the Tardis but haven't seen it on the screen (was it different before the new series?)

Author's Response: Thank you! The story actually germinated from the single image of those pathways stretching out forever - and the thought that he was in danger of deliberately walking into limbo, someplace where he\'d become nothing, neither dead, nor regenerated. The story flowed from that. Her anger was at least partly at him, because She needed him so badly, and he was so close to abandoning everything. As you can see, this story means a great deal to me, which makes your enjoyment of it very gratifying. (And when it comes to the screen relationship ... you could see hints and glimpses in the old series, but in truth it\'s far more up front in the new series.)

2008.08.13 - 08:42PM
1: Chapter 1

Very good read. It does have a feeling of autumn, somehow. Subtle relationship between the Doctor and the TARDIS. Held at the edge merely by fingertips.

Author's Response: Autumn\'s the point of the year - it\'s when the things of the earth come to maturity, to fruition; (spring, too, I know, for animals, but without the things of the earth...well....) Before the Doctor can reach his spring, he has to acknowledge that his earth has not been razed with salt, that it\'s still fertile. That it is autumn, and that it is good. And, on another plane entirely, I\'ve always thought of the north of England the same way I think of my own homeland...in rusts and ochres and dark golds - all the colors of autumn. Thanks for reading.

2008.06.28 - 02:17AM
1: Chapter 1

This is a piece where the words not only create a vivid and cruelly beautiful picture, but are beautiful in themselves. Please excuse the way my mind works, but the image that kept coming to me when I read this was of stained glass windows, if you see what I mean? Awe(in its true sense)some.

Author's Response: Thank you for the use of awe-some. I\'m humbled. And I do, I think, understand what you mean when you speak of stained glass windows. I\'m touched, because I think it means you got what I was getting at.

2008.06.27 - 06:25PM
1: Chapter 1

This was really beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you - I appreciate your words.

2008.06.27 - 04:02PM
1: Chapter 1

This was excellent and I'm going to go read more of your stuff. The atmosphere you created was so real, I ached for both Doctor and Tardis.

Author's Response: I hope my stories are worthy of your curiosity. Thank you for your kind words.

2008.06.27 - 11:59AM
1: Chapter 1

There are only a handful of stories that deal with Nine's recovery right after his regeneration. I think this is one of the best I have read.

Author's Response: This is extremely high praise, for which I thank you most humbly.

2008.06.27 - 11:12AM
1: Chapter 1

This is lovely. I especially like how you create a sense of suspended time, which beautifully conveys the Doctor's trauma and his reluctance to remember what he's done.

Author's Response: Thank you. I wanted to give a sense of being in an eternal \"present\" without speaking in the present tense, and it seems that I may have accomplished that. I\'m glad you enjoyed it.

2008.06.27 - 10:48AM
1: Chapter 1

This was recommended on calufrax and I can see why... It's beautiful, devastating and moving - I'm in tears... Very well done.

Author's Response: Thank you for your words; thank you even more, if possible, for your tears. Writers can be cruel that way - we like, sometimes, to wring the hearts of our readers so that someone can share what we feel.

2008.06.27 - 10:11AM
1: Chapter 1

Oooh. I've always liked this one, and when I saw it recommended in Calufrax, I saw that I didn't leave a review of it. Sowwy! :( I love the slightly-languid, slightly-edgy prose of it.

Author's Response: I\'m absolutely hornswoggled about being recced at Calufrax, not to mention deeply honored. Please don\'t worry about not leaving a review, but thank you for what you\'ve said here. I\'m glad you appreciate this.

2008.06.08 - 12:28PM
1: Chapter 1

I thought your experiment worked very well. The dazed, dreamlike tone of it was just perfect. And I loved the sense of communication and empathy between the Doctor and the TARDIS and how they're both healing together and caring for each other. Good work!

Author's Response: Thank you! I wanted to give readers a sense of extreme distancing for two reasons: firstly, to adequately illustrate the monumentally altered consciousness under which I think the Doctor would have operated in the immediate post regeneration period; secondly, to try and work with an almost liturgical iteration of language.

2007.08.11 - 12:15AM
1: Chapter 1

You did very good job of that! I was impressed by the tone of the story. It was sort of simple and bittersweet.

Author's Response: Thank you. Sometimes stories are best told in the most simple way possible.