2011.04.24 - 07:06PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

I just read this for the first time recently, so I'm coming back through and doing a re-read, because I ADORED this. Seriously, it brought back a rush of feelings and all the fondness and love and nostalgia I have for the ninth doctor and Rose together.

I love how you establish from early on here that this is a Rose who is a little bit more grown up but still recognizably herself, with her best qualities - loyal, straight-forward, a little teasing, and engaged. And Alt!Nine! Oh my gosh, Nine. *stars in my eyes*

There's something so quintessentially right about the TARDIS being a ticket booth too, in the AU world.

Love!

2010.02.02 - 10:02PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

Lovely voice and style. You actually make me care about Rose again.

Author's Response: Thanks! Rose is totally worth caring about, though it\'s easy to let her slip out of mind the longer she is out of sight. I\'m glad I could revive your interest.

2009.03.22 - 03:49AM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

Just stopping by to reread this wonderful story! It never gets old-I enjoy it more every time!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much for re-reviewing as you reread! I\'m glad this story stands the test of multiple readings.

2009.03.17 - 02:24AM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

I adore alt9/Rose, and this series is absolutely wonderful. Love it.

Author's Response: Canon is just not as exciting as another version of Nine, is it? :) Thanks so much!

2008.11.03 - 01:17PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

I am absolutely nuts about this series! I just discovered it yesterday and stayed up ridiculously late reading the entire series. Your Nine is absolutely brilliant. VERY Eccleston. I can absolutely see him as exactly what our Nine would've been had he experienced those same 40-something years post-time War without Rose. He's exactly himself, except more so, LOL.

I'm sure others have also commented on your brilliance in choosing the Twelfth Night poetry to go with this, when I gather you wrote it all prior to the announcement of the episode titles for S45, including "Journey's End." But please add me to those who are in awe at your master stroke in utilizing those lines so well here. Obviously you and RTD share a brain. Or should we be checking to make sure you AREN'T RTD??? ;-)

Looks like this series is complete, but should you ever decide to add to it, know that you'll have a willing and eager reader in me. Thank you for all the hard work you've invested in these stories!

Author's Response: Wow, what a fantastic treat to find this review in my inbox! I hope you got some sleep eventually. :) I\'m thrilled that you liked the use of Twelfth Night. Yes, this was all written well before series 4. As for whether I am RTD, let me just point out that we have never been seen in the same place at the same time. Hmmm... This series is not complete, although it went on extended hiatus while another fic ate my brain and RL interfered. That other fic is done, so I do hope to eventually beat back RL and reawaken the muse to write some more. Thanks for taking the time to read & review!

2008.05.11 - 08:15PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

I have been meaning to read this for ages, but it started at a period when I was busy, and then it kept getting longer, with sequels, even, and I wanted to give it my attention, yadda yadda, ANYWAY, I finally got a chance to read it this rainy afternoon, and I loved it! I, too, have a real attraction to an older, more assertive Rose and a broken alt!Nine who didn't have a Rose of his own (not even a yappy little Yorkie to keep him company). Nine and Rose are endlessly fascinating to me because their chemistry was so intensely sexual, and yet strangely, sweetly innocent; and then their relationship seemed to develop through pure instinct. They hardly ever talked, they simply were, although that occasionally caused problems (oops! Reapers!). We barely got started with them, and there was so much there to explore.

JAAAAABE! (Sorry, just had to let that out. Jabe is tied with Nancy for favourite one-off character.)

And to follow up on a previous comment, Nine + chocolate sounds like an endorphin overload that might just be lethal.

Am off to read the sequels now!

Author's Response: Thanks! I actually enjoy getting reviews that come in long after a story is finished. They motivate me to keep writing. The image of Nine traveling with Rose the Yorkie is priceless. I still miss Nine and his powerful, complex chemistry with Rose (great description of it, by the way). I also adored Jabe. That\'s why her messy death after time as a companion seemed like the sort of thing that could create the extremely hardened Doctor I needed here.

2007.11.19 - 03:25PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

I just wanted to tell you how fabulous this story really is. I'm totally ashamed of myself for not reviewing it sooner. I've been working on my own fic, but that is not an excuse!

You've absolutely captured, at least how I've always imagined her post Doomsday, Rose perfectly. Strong, determined to enjoy her life as best she can, but still missing her Doctor.

As far as I'm concerned, the best Alt-Nine/Rose story on the site!

Author's Response: *blushes madly* Thank you so much for your kind words! If you\'re interested in Alt-Nine/Rose, I highly recommend \"Seed Pearls\" by Honorh. She has a very different spin on the concept, but the story is brilliantly written.

2007.11.03 - 10:08PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

These or a thousand other cues can come at me out of the blue, and if Iím unlucky then the rest of the world grows insubstantial around me as I get lost in the past, no TARDIS to carry me home. No TARDIS to be my home.

I relate to Rose so well here that it's scary. Without getting into it, I sort of lost a lot of what was important to me all at once and found myself alone in an unfamiliar place. Sometimes I couldn't recognize anything, and I had very little left from my old life. You summed that up very well.

This is a fascinating premise with a gret beginning. I'm intrigued.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, I wrote this just after moving away from a group of close friends. I ended up projecting my sense of loss onto Rose more than a little. I\'m glad to know I conveyed the feeling well.

2007.10.04 - 12:25AM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

Wonderful story!!! can't wait for the next one

2007.09.23 - 03:09AM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

I like feisty Rose, unbroken Rose, with just that touch of heartache. You portray this so well here. Looking forward to reading the rest.

2007.09.01 - 06:19PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

Here on a rec, and I'm so glad I came. This was a wonderful ride, and I'm really looking forward to reading more of their adventures. I love the way Rose has grown up in her three years in this universe, and how in many ways she's even better equipped to deal with the Doctor than she was in her original universe. Normally I would be hoping that she'd find "her" Doctor in a story, but you've set this up so beautifully that I can't wait to see how their relationship, whatever it may become, progresses. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I think the Doctor saw Rose\'s potential and catalyzed the start of her change from no-account shopgirl to big damn hero, but once started the change could continue without him. I love a good reunion fic, but sometimes they\'re a bit too fairy-tale perfect to feel truthful. This story is my attempt to make a non-tragic aftermath to Doomsday that still lets impossible to travel between universes mean impossible. I\'m glad you\'re enjoying it!

2007.08.29 - 10:12PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

best au/alt!nine story I've ever read. Can't wait to see more.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I\'m so glad you enjoyed it. Don\'t worry, the sequel is coming along well, although real life is doing its best to slow progress.

2007.08.20 - 10:24PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

Wow, I am really enjoying this! Using the first person is such a change of pace, & I truly like the strong Rose character. Keep 'em coming, please!

2007.08.04 - 06:53AM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

Likeing this already. Strong Rose with happy and sad memories but still proving she is a survivor. Off to read the next part. VBG.