2011.04.24 - 07:06PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

I just read this for the first time recently, so I'm coming back through and doing a re-read, because I ADORED this. Seriously, it brought back a rush of feelings and all the fondness and love and nostalgia I have for the ninth doctor and Rose together.

I love how you establish from early on here that this is a Rose who is a little bit more grown up but still recognizably herself, with her best qualities - loyal, straight-forward, a little teasing, and engaged. And Alt!Nine! Oh my gosh, Nine. *stars in my eyes*

There's something so quintessentially right about the TARDIS being a ticket booth too, in the AU world.

Love!

2010.08.14 - 01:33AM
5: Chapter 5: A Bad Recompense

Yes, I am back again re-reading this wonderful series!!!! I don't suppose you are in a writing mood? Maybe if you re-read Ilyria too? Or rewatch Season One? :)

Author's Response: Awww, thanks for reading and reviewing again! You\'re such a sweetie. I\'m truly flattered that this series holds up to rereading. :) I happen to be already rewatching S1 right now over at dwrewatch on LJ. SO GOOD. *g*

2010.02.02 - 10:43PM
5: Chapter 5: A Bad Recompense

Lovely!

2010.02.02 - 10:36PM
4: Chapter 4: Secret as Maidenhead

I like your "grown up" version of Rose Tyler with her own experiences and adventures. Influenced by the Doctor and her time with the Doctor but also her own woman... and probably the closest thing this Doctor will find to another Timelady... with a sense of adventure and humor.

Author's Response: Many thanks! You hit the nail on the head for what I wanted to achieve with Rose here. :)

2010.02.02 - 10:22PM
3: Chapter 3: Trip No Further, Pretty Sweeting

Loved this!

2010.02.02 - 10:09PM
2: Chapter 2: O Mistress Mine, Where Are You Roaming?

Loved this. (and...We still don't know if slug man was bluffing or if he is actually sea-snail man).

2010.02.02 - 10:02PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

Lovely voice and style. You actually make me care about Rose again.

Author's Response: Thanks! Rose is totally worth caring about, though it\'s easy to let her slip out of mind the longer she is out of sight. I\'m glad I could revive your interest.

2009.03.22 - 03:49AM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

Just stopping by to reread this wonderful story! It never gets old-I enjoy it more every time!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much for re-reviewing as you reread! I\'m glad this story stands the test of multiple readings.

2009.03.17 - 02:24AM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

I adore alt9/Rose, and this series is absolutely wonderful. Love it.

Author's Response: Canon is just not as exciting as another version of Nine, is it? :) Thanks so much!

2008.12.07 - 02:34AM
5: Chapter 5: A Bad Recompense

Hi. You are amazing. I am reading as much of everything you've written before my eyes close of their own volition. Thank you for writing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And remember, the fanfic will still be there in the morning. :)

2008.11.03 - 01:17PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

I am absolutely nuts about this series! I just discovered it yesterday and stayed up ridiculously late reading the entire series. Your Nine is absolutely brilliant. VERY Eccleston. I can absolutely see him as exactly what our Nine would've been had he experienced those same 40-something years post-time War without Rose. He's exactly himself, except more so, LOL.

I'm sure others have also commented on your brilliance in choosing the Twelfth Night poetry to go with this, when I gather you wrote it all prior to the announcement of the episode titles for S45, including "Journey's End." But please add me to those who are in awe at your master stroke in utilizing those lines so well here. Obviously you and RTD share a brain. Or should we be checking to make sure you AREN'T RTD??? ;-)

Looks like this series is complete, but should you ever decide to add to it, know that you'll have a willing and eager reader in me. Thank you for all the hard work you've invested in these stories!

Author's Response: Wow, what a fantastic treat to find this review in my inbox! I hope you got some sleep eventually. :) I\'m thrilled that you liked the use of Twelfth Night. Yes, this was all written well before series 4. As for whether I am RTD, let me just point out that we have never been seen in the same place at the same time. Hmmm... This series is not complete, although it went on extended hiatus while another fic ate my brain and RL interfered. That other fic is done, so I do hope to eventually beat back RL and reawaken the muse to write some more. Thanks for taking the time to read & review!

2008.09.13 - 03:53PM
5: Chapter 5: A Bad Recompense

Lovely story and great AU.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing.

2008.05.11 - 08:15PM
1: Chapter 1: Patience on a Monument

I have been meaning to read this for ages, but it started at a period when I was busy, and then it kept getting longer, with sequels, even, and I wanted to give it my attention, yadda yadda, ANYWAY, I finally got a chance to read it this rainy afternoon, and I loved it! I, too, have a real attraction to an older, more assertive Rose and a broken alt!Nine who didn't have a Rose of his own (not even a yappy little Yorkie to keep him company). Nine and Rose are endlessly fascinating to me because their chemistry was so intensely sexual, and yet strangely, sweetly innocent; and then their relationship seemed to develop through pure instinct. They hardly ever talked, they simply were, although that occasionally caused problems (oops! Reapers!). We barely got started with them, and there was so much there to explore.

JAAAAABE! (Sorry, just had to let that out. Jabe is tied with Nancy for favourite one-off character.)

And to follow up on a previous comment, Nine + chocolate sounds like an endorphin overload that might just be lethal.

Am off to read the sequels now!

Author's Response: Thanks! I actually enjoy getting reviews that come in long after a story is finished. They motivate me to keep writing. The image of Nine traveling with Rose the Yorkie is priceless. I still miss Nine and his powerful, complex chemistry with Rose (great description of it, by the way). I also adored Jabe. That\'s why her messy death after time as a companion seemed like the sort of thing that could create the extremely hardened Doctor I needed here.

2008.01.09 - 08:01AM
5: Chapter 5: A Bad Recompense

I've read this first story in one go, it was that interesting.
I keep thinking that there can't be another Doctor in other universes because Time Lords were above time and above different realities and could travel through them. There were unique, each one of them.
This said, this doesn't prevent me from reading stories with Doctors from parallel universes because it's always fascinating to see how different they can be.

You did a wonderful job with Nine here.
Very good idea to choose Nine because his relationship with Rose was less easy going than with Ten.
It's obvious you did a lot of thinking on how Nine would have been if he hadn't met Rose after the Time War. Forty years without her, it's a long, long time and it obviously left scars.
And kudos for writing from Rose's POW, you didn't chose the easy way.

This has to be the most perfect and well writen description of Nine I've ever read:
This incarnation was always that way, like a little babbling brook of humor, manic energy, and jaunty heroism over the hard, jagged rocks of past pain and sense of separation. I suspected I was one of very few who knew that underneath that bedrock was an underground river of his great heart (well, hearts) flowing with vast love and endless hope. Sometimes Iím not even sure he knew it was there.


Author's Response: Wow, thanks for the lovely long review! I\'m truly flattered. I just find Nine much more interesting than Ten, especially in his relationship with Rose. I\'ve heard the argument that there shouldn\'t be parallel Doctors because the Time Lords were previously able to move between realities. That\'s a strong argument, but the one detail that argues for a parallel Doctor is the existence of parallel Torchwood. How did it get started if not by the Doctor meeting Queen Victoria and the werewolf? Of course there could be dozens of reasons, but for my own post-Doomsday peace of mind I cling to the idea of a parallel Doctor. Besides, creating the alternate Doctor is just such fun.

2007.11.19 - 04:41PM
5: Chapter 5: A Bad Recompense

This is truly a wonderful story in all different aspects; creative storyline, accurate characterization, witty repertoire. I promise you that I will return to review the sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks again for taking the time to write all those lovely reviews! I am so glad you enjoyed my story.