Reviews For Seed Pearls

2007.08.14 - 01:37AM
17: Epilogue

this was just beautiful. what a beautiful story. i loved each chapter as it unfolded and the end made me cry. i loved that the doctor was teaching new time lords. what an intricate, gorgeous story. thank you so very much.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I\'m glad you enjoyed the story--I enjoyed writing it so very much.

2007.08.09 - 03:29AM
17: Epilogue

This story has a pilgrim soul of its own. I read a review that recommended it, and I am greatful that I found it. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Now I\'m curious as to where this review is . . . \"Pilgrim soul\"--I like that!

2007.08.08 - 06:22AM
17: Epilogue

Oh. My. Goodness. That was breathtakingly beautiful, and so very cleverly done. You made me cry, and that's quite a feat. I love the fact that they get the happy ever after, but that it's so human. And a new race of Time Lords... Wonderful. Just perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! This story really captured my heart while I was working on it, and knowing it\'s touched people is wonderful.

2007.07.31 - 10:54AM
17: Epilogue

i dont think ive throroughly enjoyed a doctor who story or fan fic in general as much as yours. You are ingenius, the storyline is so original and and the characters are so true to their personality shown on tv. Thank you for creating such a rich, enjoyable and well written piece of writing and the commentary and the author notes made me chuckle!!!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing. It really means a lot to me to know people are enjoying this story and what they\'re enjoying about it.

2007.06.21 - 06:28PM
17: Epilogue

What a wonderful story - thank you so much for sharing it. I loved how you made John a distinct character separate from the Doctor, and yet similar enough that he felt like an old friend to the readers. The ending was lovely, too, with the start of a new era of the human race brought about by Rose and the Doctor's love for each other. Beautiful!

Author's Response: Thank you! John was a wonderful character to work with, and I enjoyed creating him, trying to keep a balance between his similarities to the Doctor and his unique qualities. I\'m glad he worked for you, and that the end did as well.

2007.05.22 - 10:16PM
17: Epilogue

I review as I read, so I'll just paste what I was thinking. :)

I love the Doctor as narrator. He's made me laugh out loud a few times now. Sporfled my tea on one of the comments. :)

Chapter 13 - Rose saying "I'm sorry" nearly made me cry...It's just so...Doctor. OMG! Grace!

Chapter 15 - Yay Mrs. Moore!

Ha! to chapter 16. I love the explanation. And holy crap new Time Lords!

I would like to say that I loved this story and, while I was expecting a Doctor/Rose ending, I rather prefer yours. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Ten\'s narration wasn\'t originally planned, but you know how it is to try and get him to shut up--couldn\'t do it, and besides, he helped get some boring exposition out of the way fairly painlessly. Lots of fun to do. I\'m really happy with the way this story turned out, and I\'m even happier that so many people have enjoyed it. As for the ending, it was really what I saw as happy all around. Rose and John have each other and their family, and Ten gets new Time Lords to hang around with and corrupt. Thanks for your thoughts!

2007.04.03 - 11:03PM
17: Epilogue

Utterly beautiful. And once again, you've given me this amazing gift, hours of sheer pleasure and emotion, and I've left the return of a review to the end. I just can't help myself. Mea culpa, indeed. This is truly a masterpiece, reading like a great old novel, rich and moving and clever and balanced. Again, you've got such a talent for voices and those quiet, intense character moments. You so make me *believe* in this world, this unstable variation. It's work like this that encourages me to spend my time searching (often fruitlessly) for fanfiction instead of reading the stack of print books by the bedside.

Favorite bits? Ten's narration. Amused and wry and breaking the fourth wall. Perfect Ten. Perfect Who. And brain-teasing, as well. Each chapter opening reminds that something more is happening here, that the big picture is lurking overhead, shadowy and indistinct but completely there, ready to fall - for good or for ill. I love the entire concept of the "seed pearl" and the echoes, lingering after the Bad Wolf incident, a creation of Rose and the Doctor (and the TARDIS') desire for each other. It's a love story of epic scale, really. I love the ending -- so unexpected and yet so satisfying. The sleek blue TARDISes and their human Time Lords. The Doctor wistful and wise and wonderful. John and Rose, a portrait of domesticity that somehow Nine could never have accepted, despite his clear love for Rose. I love John, unsurprisingly (as an unabashed Ninefan) - carrying his very human and still very complete tragedy, haunted and hurt and capable of so much love. The parallels are so well-drawn, grounded in human realities, and yet familiar.

I found myself outlining the basic concept of the story to my fanfic-hating husband the other night, just to remind him that some of the "stuff" I read is remarkable. (He agreed. He's also being charmed by "Out of Joint," which I've taken to reading to him when he's working on outdoor projects. When I tell you it's the ultimate complement that he loves the story, laughs hugely, and asks for more, I definitely mean that.) I have to hope that you'll keep creating these long, plotty, character-driven stories for many years to come. Thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you! I\'ve taken to reading some particularly fine fanfic like novels, which is really what they are--not published by some house, not done for money, but for love, and honestly, with some authors, the quality is as fine or better as any mass-market in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy section of your local B&N. I\'m glad you\'re finding my stories worthy of that status. I fell in love with this story as it wrote itself in my head. John is like Nine, yet human, and with his humanity comes more human desires than the Doctor can indulge--like a home and a family with Rose. Creating him was so very enjoyable. My favorite bits to write, though, were Ten\'s bits of color commentary. He let me break out of the love story and be a little quirky and irreverent, which is something I tend to need as I write. Thank you *so* much for the lovely review, and felicitations to your husband as well! I hope to have a new chapter of \"Out of Joint\" soon.

2007.03.30 - 07:45AM
17: Epilogue

Hehe I loved how it was a lecture! Great stuff. A story you ought to be proud of.

Author's Response: Thank you for all the reviews! I\'m glad you enjoyed the story so much. Don\'t feel too sad for Ten; he may not get the girl, but he gets new Time Lords to mold in his image. That makes him happy.

Rachael_Rose
2007.03.18 - 03:16PM
17: Epilogue

Oh, MY.

I've said it before, and I'll say it again, fics like this make me wish I was half decent at writing a good review. I'll do my damndest, however. :P

Despite being one of those die-hard shipppers ( :P ), like someone else said, I loved how you made a way for Rose to be 'with' the Doctor, and 'not' at the same time. The way you worked in the Doctor's other incarnations made me smile, too.

I was honestly surprised by the end. I knew Aiden was a bastard and I figured that at the last minute, the Doctor would save the day, but it was different. I like different. Different is good. :)

Very much looking forward to some new output from you. (Unless I've missed something in the while I've not been online much...*goes to check*) ...

Well dones all round, and may those Fan Fiction Awards be soon in coming, so that I can nominate this like crazy! :D

Author's Response: Hey, you\'re pretty good at writing reviews from where I\'m sitting! This was my best solution to having the Doctor and Rose together without her having to choose him vs. her family and having a life of her own, or making the Doctor settle down--which he shouldn\'t. I actually don\'t see the Doctor as coming in and saving the day; I see Rose as having ultimately saved herself. After all, the Doctor couldn\'t have come through without the help of her descendants! Thank you very much for the review, and I hope you enjoy any new stories I can crank out.

2007.03.17 - 02:45AM
17: Epilogue

So glad I found this fic! Just spent the last few hours reading it and it's just incredible. Big well done!

Author's Response: Thank you! I\'m glad you enjoyed it.

2007.03.13 - 01:37AM
17: Epilogue

Oh, that's just lovely! You've found a great way to let Rose get on with her life... with the Doctor... only not.... Basically, you've managed to do everything -- let Rose keep her family, *and* the Doctor, *and* live Happily Ever After with him, *and keep him free to roam the universe in his decidedly non-domestic way, *and keep him from being alone as he does so, *and* re-create the Time Lords to boot! And make it all believable and in character. I am in awe. Thanks for a fantastic story!

Author's Response: What can I say? I\'m a sucker for a happy ending. Doctor/Rose reunions in which she leaves her family always leave me sad, because that\'s a bitch of a choice to have to make. Plus, having the Doctor settle down is just Not Right. So this is my version of a happy ending for Rose and a happy, um, middle for the Doctor. Thanks for reviewing, and I\'m glad you enjoyed it!

2007.03.01 - 10:59AM
17: Epilogue

This was a wonderful story with a real proper plot an' all LOL! Loved the ending, especially Ten's new role for the human Time Lords. Yay.

Author's Response: Thank you! It was supposed to be a simple romance, but then this happened, and well . . . yeah, Ten gets to mold young Time Lord Minds. Scary!

2007.02.28 - 05:49PM
17: Epilogue

This was a really great story from the beginning to the end. It made me laugh and it made me cry. The story telling from the Doctor's POV was funny and very nicely introduced us to each chapter. It was a whirlwind of emotions from the characters as they faced their fears but in the end it all turned out Rosey. Fantastic ride and think you did a great job. We had both Nine in the form of John and Ten and that for me was good. The way you introduced Johns father the spit image of Doctor Eight was funny and also very nicely done. The ending all around was great and I am smiling at the ending. Very fitting. Thank you for a great read. Hope to see more from you soon.


Author's Response: Thank you very much! It was a fun story to write, and I\'m glad you enjoyed reading it. Hopefully, I\'ll have more stories ready soon--once my fingers have had a chance to rest!

2007.02.28 - 07:45AM
17: Epilogue

Congratulations on reaching the end! I've enjoyed the whole thing very much. It's rare to find a fic that handles emotions on such a mature level. You're an excellent writer. *applause*

Author's Response: Thank you! Writing a whole range of emotions is very satisfying for me, and it\'s doubly satisfying when they come across to readers.

2007.02.28 - 07:45AM
17: Epilogue

Congratulations on reaching the end! I've enjoyed the whole thing very much. It's rare to find a fic that handles emotions on such a mature level. You're an excellent writer. *applause*