Reviews For Seed Pearls

2021.08.29 - 10:06AM
17: Epilogue

Oh gosh I found this fic on a recc list and I absolutely love it!

2015.09.25 - 06:31AM
17: Epilogue

Wow, your story pulled in in right from the start. I loved the fact it was the Doctor narrating it, well done

2014.05.04 - 08:53PM
17: Epilogue

This is an incredibly touching story. It almost hurt to have the Doctor narrating it, but as it wrapped up, I understood and appreciated it quite a bit. I adore how your mind created this idea and then went even further with Rose and John's children. So fantastic!

Also, the title is genius! Very clever.

It sucked me in from beginning to end. Amazing. Thank you for sharing.

2014.02.04 - 08:48PM
17: Epilogue

This was so perfect. >.< Really loved it, Especially the ending. Never read one that ended so amazingly. Thanks so much!

2013.07.12 - 02:15PM
17: Epilogue

Excellent! Spectacular storytelling, compelling story line, realistic characters, a plausible villain. *hands over all the awards* An instant favorite.

2010.01.24 - 09:36PM
17: Epilogue

I absolutely loved this story. I had me through the full range of emotions, and at the end I was laughing and crying at the same time. I hope you continue to put out works of such caliber and I know I'll enjoy reading them.

Though one thing I do wish to say. The vanity comment our beloved 10th doctor makes about being 900 years old and allowed a little vanity about his looks imediately had me thinking of Yoda from Empire Strikes Back "When 900 years old you age, look as good you will not!" I don't know if that was your intention when writing that bit but I'm sure every star wars geek will get that.

Truly it was an amazing read. I love how in a way it seems that the Bad Wolf and the TARDIS put things in place to care for Rose in the alternate reality. It was truly Fantastic and Brilliant. The tone of all the characters felt spot on to me. I really can't think of anything to say that's even slightly negative. Though I must say that at the end, part of me keeps wishing that our dear doctor can find someone who can spend forever with him one day as well.

2009.02.21 - 04:40AM
17: Epilogue

Just finished this all in one sitting and sat down to review. On second thought, I'm gonna digest it all a bit and come back to this...


Mmm, much easier to think with a banana on the stomach. ;) Now, where was I?


First off, I have to say that you have a wonderful writing style. Everything in this piece flowed wonderfully and I didn't guess the ending halfway through the third chapter--which is a rarity, to be sure. Had the plot been different to what it was, I am positive I would have enjoyed this immensely. Oh but that's rude, isn't it? Let me try to explain.

From the very first, something about this story disquieted me. I kept reading, because of course now I had to find out why it was so disquieting, but I don't think there was a single moment--even when I was falling for John right along with Rose--that I wasn't unsettled. It wasn't until the very end that I realized why.

I lead a certain sort of life--just what the particulars of that life are, are irrelevant--that lends itself to seeing those thousands of 'realistic', 'true to life' unhappy or bittersweet endings. When I 'take a metaphysical escapist vacation' into literature or film or other such media, I want enough reality to make these things believable, but in the end, I nearly demand a simple, clear-cut happy ending; I do this mostly because I'm weary of the bittersweet and the not-sweet-at-all.

This wonderful, terrible, maddening tale of yours strayed far too close to the real world for my comfort. It teaches several good and valuable lessons and I am most definitely a wiser person for having read it; I am quite possibly a better one.

To wrap up an embarrassingly long review--this is what I get for reading something deep in one go--I submit the following. Did I enjoy it? Honestly--and through no fault of yours--no. Am I glad that I finished it? Not really, I'll be brooding and deep-pondering these concepts for days now. Will I read it again? Probably not. I may revisit bits and pieces as food for thought, but the whole thing in its entirety is too...unsettling to do repeatedly. If I had to do it over again, would I? Yes, a hundred times over. Would I absolutely recommend this to everyone who loves the Whoniverse? Irrevocably yes. I do, in fact, plan on reccing the hell out of this. Not everything that's good for you tastes wholly pleasant.

I'm sorry if this has come off as rude or offensive in any manner; such was not my intent. I admire you very much for writing this and I adore your style of writing. I simply wished to express that in an honest and thorough manner. I look forward to more from you in the future!

Author's Response: Huh. Now, there\'s an interesting review. Not quite sure of what to make of it, but I\'m glad to have your point of view. I view the ending as being a happy one, even if there is a little sadness in the sweetness. Rose and John found love and family after both had been devastated by loss. The Doctor lost Rose, but gained something very like what he lost in the Time War. I think I understand what you\'re saying--that happiness the characters find is inextricably linked to what they lost. You can never replace what\'s lost, of course, but you can heal and fill the empty spaces. That, in fact, is probably the best summing-up of the theme of this fic.

2009.01.25 - 11:55AM
17: Epilogue

Well, wow. A story simply WELL worth reading. For some reason, I'd always put off doing so--maybe because the anticipation came to be almost as good as the story itself? Whatever my reasons, this was simply amazing. And the Doctor's narration at the beginning of each chapter (along with the epilogue) simply broke my heart. Amazing. Extraordinary. Fantastic. I'm out of words (it's a bit early in the morning for nice diction, here), and I'm still adoring this story. I've never read anything quite like it--no other author I've ever read has been so daring or so creative, and none of them have *ever* managed to pull of anything half as well as this. Thank you for writing such a wonderful fic!

2008.11.12 - 06:56PM
17: Epilogue

Aww lovely! That was an absolutly wonderful story and a great epilogue to do it justice. I'm so glad the Doctor's happy with his little army of Time Lords, lol, and to see Rose and John together is just simply beautiful!

Great story! Loved it, thanks.

2008.08.31 - 07:37AM
17: Epilogue

Catching up on the Classics this weekend, a year or two late ~ahem~ Loved it! I really loved Ten's narration in particular, his voice throughout was pitch-perfect. A really lovely story with a fantastic happy ending. A very nice way to spend a Sunday morning!

2008.08.04 - 01:34PM
17: Epilogue

I loved this story so much, great story line and very exciting to read.

I've always had a soft spot for the 9th Doctor so I was so glad it was him (sorta) and Rose together again.

2008.02.23 - 10:06PM
17: Epilogue

Oh wow! What a great story! I love the plot, the characterization (the scene with John and Rose at the airport is spot-on), the emotion, the ending, everything! Fantastic! I'm so glad I read this story.

Author's Response: Thank you! This story was a real labor of love, so I always enjoy knowing when it\'s touched someone. Glad you liked the scene at the airport. That\'s probably the most bruising argument I\'ve ever written, and I\'m glad it comes across.

2007.12.18 - 02:16PM
17: Epilogue

Oh, my, that was absolutely engrossing and lovely. I'll spare you a couple of pages of incoherent happy geeble-geeble noises and say simply, well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the geeble-geebles!

2007.10.18 - 09:23PM
17: Epilogue

This was absolutely lovely, one of the most compelling love stories I've read in recent memory. I enjoyed it so much.

One question, though: when I read the bit about John having a past relationship with Jane, I figured it would be important later on in the story, but unless I'm missing something, it wasn't. Did you have a reason for putting that in?

Now I'm off to read some more of your stuff...

Author's Response: Answering this kind of late, but thank you for the review. John and Jane\'s relationship was something I put in early on, but as the story progressed, it just didn\'t develop into anything. Happens sometimes. But I left it in just because it was another bit of background information on John, and I felt like I needed those to keep him \"real.\" Good question!

2007.10.10 - 12:23AM
17: Epilogue

I absolutely love this story...it has such great development and detail...not to mention that I love seeing Nine (or a version of him anyway) finally end up happy.

Author's Response: Thank you! I\'m glad you enjoyed it.