A Teaspoon And An Open Mind: A Doctor Who Fan Fiction Archive

Reviews For ROPE

Gallifrey Immigrant2014.10.26 - 06:35PM1: Chapter 1Signed
A fic I read when I as just getting into the classic Doctors, and still just as good. You handled a dark subject well. Great subject.

SpaceTimeConundrum2013.08.02 - 08:36PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Wow. I don't know what I was expecting, but it wasn't this. I know this is an older story, and I have no idea if you're still checking your reviews, but it was magnificent nonetheless. Spot-on characterization for Five and Tegan and I've got to applaud you for thus far being the only person to actually make the Fifth Doctor genuinely scary (if only for a moment, I thought he really might be angry enough to be threatening with that bat). I adore Five, but he doesn't usually get to be the Oncoming Storm.

Author's Response: Oh gosh. I didn\'t realize people were still reading this. I\'m glad, don\'t get me wrong:-) Thanks for the lovely review. This story is 12 years old at least, but I\'m glad it still holds up. I really like writing roriginal characters and thrusting them into the world of DW. I also wanted to explore how the Doctor can effect a positive change on people he encounters even though the circumstances under which they meet him might not be ideal. I think that\'s something I always loved about Doctor Who. Hope in the midst of peril and despair.

jedi_penguin2008.09.04 - 06:01PM1: Chapter 1Signed
I read this years ago on FF.net and I'm delighted to find it again. You have Five down so WELL; I can just see his restrained fury hidden behind impeccable manners.

MelanieL2008.06.17 - 04:10AM1: Chapter 1Signed
What I liked most about ROPE was how I was able to imagine just what it might have looked like on tv. Had 'Doctor Who' not been marketed as a children's show, this could easily have been the basis of a screenplay. Well done!

Vilya2008.05.23 - 12:37PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Very well done! One of my favs!

whochick2008.04.16 - 09:17AM1: Chapter 1Signed
This got reviewed on Calufrax (http://calufrax.livejournal.com) and I had to come and have a look because 5th Doctor fics that are worth reading are few and far between.

You've done fantastic job with both Five and Tegan - skirting neatly around the suggestion of 'ship' and managing a thoroughly believable piece of writing set in an unlikely 5th Doctor era situation.

Your use of original characters was perfect. All together a great story, fanfic or not. Kudos.

Cyanne2008.04.15 - 09:34PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Woh. I am not sure it is actually possible for me to love a story more than I loved this. I was actually tense and frightened through the whole thing. This was the Fifth Doctor at his most terrifying and awesome, and you captured him brilliantly. Really fantastic work. The POV, the horrible typicality of it all, Tegan's attitude, everything. Really amazing piece of work.

HonorH2008.04.15 - 11:33AM1: Chapter 1Signed
Wow. Came here on a rec from Calufrex that intrigued me. I always knew your BtVS fic was excellent (if you're the same Kalima), but I think this outstrips all of 'em I've read. I don't know the Fifth Doctor beyond "Time Crash," but I could see Nine and Ten--my Doctors--so easily in him here. Horrible subject matter, wonderful work.

parrotfish2008.04.15 - 10:15AM1: Chapter 1Anonymous
This is so well-written -- like peeking through an open window at an intensely emotional scene being played out, but only partially understanding it. I love it.

ClocketPatch2007.05.23 - 03:44AM1: Chapter 1Signed
Ugly but beautiful. Weird celery got a laugh if nothing else did. The ending was sublime, and felt very true. Life goes on, not always perfectly, after these sort of events. And Five was caught perfectly. I like how Justin made no mention of cricket throughout the story, and how he thought turlo and tea was a sort of snack.

Albion192007.02.15 - 03:38PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Why this doesn't have more reviews I'll never know! It's brilliant, the subject matter is tough but well dealt with. I love it when the Doctor is percieved from an outsiders view, how odd he seems. And how dangerous! I love your Five!

Kittenmommy2007.01.21 - 12:30AM1: Chapter 1Signed
I read this story a long time ago on FFN... it's just as good as I remember it being! Excellent!

WindSparrow2006.09.25 - 08:42AM1: Chapter 1Signed
Excellent story. Not pretty, not easy, but excellent.

warinbabylon2006.08.12 - 05:14AM1: Chapter 1Signed
I have always loved this story and am so very glad to see it here. Thank you! Your characterizations are so darned believable!

LilacFree2006.08.04 - 05:38PM1: Chapter 1Signed
This is so good it makes me almost cry from sheer enjoyment. The setting and characters are all so realistic that the Doctor stands out as strange without you having to make him especially weird. It's an ugly incident but a beautiful story.

Author's Response: My goal was to do precisely that thing. Make something beautiful out of something ugly. It makes me gleeful to see that I succeeded. Thanks for reading.




Doctor Who and its accoutrements are the property of the BBC, and we obviously don't have any right to them. Any and all crossover characters belong to their respective creators. Alas no one makes any money from this site, and it's all done out of love for a cheap-looking sci-fi show. All fics are property of their individual authors. Archival at this site should not be taken to constitute automatic archive rights elsewhere, and authors should be contacted individually to arrange further archiving. Despite occasional claims otherwise, The Blessed St Lalla Ward is not officially recognised by the Catholic Church. Yet.

Script for this archive provided by eFiction. Contact our archivists at help@whofic.com. Please read our Terms of Service and Submission Guidelines.