A Teaspoon And An Open Mind: A Doctor Who Fan Fiction Archive

jer8322016.04.20 - 12:33AM1: Chapter 1Signed

The look on the Doctor’s face when she appeared in his cell, his jacket draped over one arm and his sonic screwdriver clutched tightly in her hand, told her he hadn’t expected her to rescue him at all. What this says – and there is so much in those two sentences – is poignant and moving. It makes the next paragraph even more joyous (please assume I've quoted the whole thing)

I love the start of this story. It's fascinating that you begin this first time story hot hot hot and then leave the physical to go on to the true SorD problem: the mental. (The title made me smile … all those delicious mind/brain implications.) The Doctor's mental state - dangerously emotional, paranoid, neurotic and deteriorating quickly - gives you the most marvelous reason to write his smutty comments to Rose - not usually found in a first-time story and apparently very OOC. Hearing the Doctor say everything she'd dreamed of and worse his acting crazy jealous on top of that simply proves to Rose that there is something VERY WRONG with him. This logic is irrefutable! I like how she ends up apologizing for loving him, and the Doctor's response: "Rose Tyler, you got through to what was left of my half-shredded brain, created a telepathic link and force fed me so much love it saved my life.”.

So, OOC is in-character and the Doctor's behaviour is consistent, and Rose, worried, unsure of herself, madly in love with the Doctor and intuitive as ever, saves him in this SorD situation without actually shagging him in the usual, old-fashioned way. It's all so adeptly constructed, tightly written, and logical that it could be used to teach a class on characterization.

I'm not sure how many of your stories I've read, but from the beginning I had the strong impression that this one is a new direction for you. It felt different. The construction was different. The characters spoke, acted, and interacted differently than I'm used to from you, although – I STRESS this – totally in character and believable in the very real-feeling situation you dropped them into. I won't go into detail here why this felt so different, I'll say just this one thing: I like it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a detailed and well-considered review. I'm glad you felt that Nine was in-character when I had him under the influence of the aphrodisiac. This fic wasn't as fluffy as some of my stuff, and Rose, justifiably I think, has a damn good reason to be pissed off at him. I also really wanted a go at a trope that has become something of a mountain top in Who fandom. Since it was a height I had not yet climbed, I knew only that I had to make the actual sex consensual. I might do some terrible things to Nine, but I couldn't make him do something that he could consider to be rape. He's too broken for that. Others have done it with some skill, but I chose the less angsty path on this one. I would at some point like to know more detail about why this one felt so different. If only so I could try to replicate it. I liked how this one turned out and would like to capture the lightning again in my trusty little bottle. Thanks again, your reviews are always pearls of great price to me.

bloose092016.04.08 - 10:22PM2: Chapter 2Signed
The poor Doctor keeps tossing out reasons why Rose will eventually leave him behind, in between all the ways he is going to pleasure her. How confusing this must be to Rose. The fact that she keeps telling the Doctor she is going to stay with him “forever” doesn’t seem to register through his thick Time Lord skull! I think Grax should shut up while he still has teeth in his head. The Doctor’s reaction to Grax calling him Rose’s father was off the charts crazy! Pete was a true hero and that is a fact. Rose is so darn smart even under the most out of control circumstances. Making physical contact with the Doctor and radiating her feelings for him was smart! Wow, Rose actually saved his life with her smart actions. How sweet that Rose’s love for the Doctor also saved his life. Maybe now he will believe it to be true, Rose’s feelings for him. Here it comes some major sexy times for Nine and Rose! There is no stopping them now that they believe how much they love each other. Their post coital talk is too funny and so perfectly them. Nothing can contain their happiness now that they have acted on their mutual love. Except the fact the Doctor needs to be continually reassured of Rose’s never ending love for him. Hooray the word of the day used in a sentence! I love it and have missed it so much! *hugs it close* The ending was lovely, all warm and fuzzy too! Thank you so much for sharing this story with all of us! (Sorry I was so late reviewing ch2.)

Author's Response: Poor Grax, he really didn't deserve that punch! He did tell the Doctor what was in the drink, so he figured out why he was acting like a jealous lunatic. I love the way Rose and Nine flirt and banter pre and also post coital. I put in the word of the day just for you, Bloose darling, since I know how you love them. I do too, you know. It speaks so much of the Henry Higgins/Eliza Dolittle kind of relationship these two seemed to exude. You can review me whenever you like, my dear. Your comments are always worth any wait and I love hearing about the parts you enjoy the most. It's so lovely to be writing again, I can't tell you how much I missed it!

Genesis Noble2016.03.12 - 10:06PM2: Chapter 2Signed
It felt a little rushed to me, don't get me wrong I love me some nine primal Nine as much if not more than the next Nine obsessed fan, but I don't think an aphrodisiac that can overcome Time Lord biology should be easily be gotten rid of by a little exercise. As much as I could see where you were going with them not coming together under forced circumstances, I also feel that if circumstances wouldn't force the issue Nine would never go for any sort of relationship with Rose, which is a shame. Now if it were Nine's own biology forcing him to confront his feelings, now that would make one hell of a story.

Author's Response: You're right that it wasn't a shag or die in the truest sense of the trope. The minute Rose touched him and reached out to him to make a telepathic connection the aphrodisiac's power was attenuated. Burning off the last of it was necessary since he wanted there to be no doubt that their first time was consensual. I think in this story what helped Nine confront his feelings was the depth of Rose's love and commitment to him, which the telepathic connection in the restaurant revealed. It gave him the courage to risk crossing the line he had told himself he shouldn't cross, but wanted to cross because he loved and desired her. Essentially we see Nine differently. I think the Time War cut him off from his people and left him painfully isolated. I believe his need for comfort and solace, especially telepathically, when combined with such a willing partner who loved and wanted him in spite of all his sins, real and imagined, would be too much of a temptation for him to resist. Your mileage may vary, of course. Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review, and I know there must be a story somewhere that will give you what you are looking for. I've read some that have come quite close to what you describe.

chiaroscuroverse2016.03.09 - 08:28PM2: Chapter 2Signed
Ahhh, wonderful conclusion. So much love and telepathic hotness. Whew!
Poor Grax, though! Just thinks he's asking out a pretty girl and he had no idea what he was getting in the middle of. :P

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love the idea of telepathic sex and my filthy mind can come up with a lot of ways to use it to kink things up. I agree poor Grax didn't deserve the ire of an enraged Time Lord. I don't think they'll ever go back to that restaurant, though. I appreciate the review and I'm so glad you liked it.

tdinttwrt2016.03.07 - 09:39PM2: Chapter 2Signed
The fic was just like the shag -- quick and hot and dirty. So glad you're writing again.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I'm glad I'm writing again. I've missed it!

Beth512762016.03.07 - 01:05PM2: Chapter 2Signed
No, Nine, you didn't become completely unraveled until you drank the wine. Which means you were becoming unhinged over Grax in the first place.

I can imagine Nine absolutely enraged over someone saying he's her father. Maybe not enough to beat the hell out of them, but still.

Yeah, I need a man to take his shirt off to prove he loves me. Especially this one.

If ever there were a man created to evoke the image of wall sex, it was CE. God really thought he had it all covered with the Seven Deadlies, and then along came Chris.

Smoking hot. Knowing you're back and have more Nine to post is better than Christmas and my birthday.

Author's Response: Ha! Of course he was becoming unhinged! Nine is convinced some pretty boy is gonna steal his Rose. Can you picture him glaring over the shoulder of that shopkeeper at the bar at the flirty waiter? I agree with you about the wall sex, but you probably have guessed that since you read my stories. Keep an eye out for "Designated Driver" when I get it posted. It will make this one look pretty vanilla.

doctorsdamerose2016.03.07 - 01:01AM2: Chapter 2Signed
OMGG!!! That was super hot!! Almost boiling point.. Fanning myself now.. 😜 Loved it immensely.. Well done.. Great job dear.... 😍

Author's Response: Thank you, but Nine is so damn sexy it's easy to write hot scenes for him. All that repressed sexuality smouldering in his eyes every time he looks at Rose when he thinks she can't see him. I'm so pleased you enjoyed it.

fleur2016.03.06 - 11:18PM2: Chapter 2Signed
I was so excited to see an update from you today! Thank you so much for this lovely story; shag or die can be tough, but you got it just right and it was perfect Nine/Rose. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This was so much fun to write and getting Nine stoned and oversexed was my pleasure, believe me! *snicker* I'm pleased you liked my take on the trope. I was hoping the humor would balance the angst of the beginning and I'm so glad you think I got it right. It is a tricky trope, especially if you want to do it without bogging it down into non-con at the mess it would leave behind. Bless you for reading and also for reviewing.

FarDareisMai2016.03.06 - 10:47PM2: Chapter 2Signed
OH MY GOD!!! I can't even begin to tell you how much I needed this tonight (for various reasons). That "Silver-tongued seducer" is going to be the stuff of ages of fantasy, and I love that he finally came around to how much she loves him, the silly git. God I love these two so much! Thank you so much for this!

Author's Response: It's a joy to know that you are reading my stories and enjoying them enough to take the time to leave a review. Thank you so much for sharing my love of Nine and his Rose.

LadyPegasus32016.03.06 - 10:35PM2: Chapter 2Signed
I can't seem to put words to how wonderful this story is! Absolutely amazing! Oooo, I know! "Fantastic squared."

Author's Response: Thank you! Feel free to quote Nine any time you are at a loss to describe your reaction to any of my stories. I'm so pleased that you not only read it but took the time to leave a review!

HawkErin2016.03.06 - 09:27PM2: Chapter 2Signed
Very nice!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and leaving a comment!

BlueBalloon2016.03.06 - 07:11PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Absolutely thrilled that you are writing again! Love your stories.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm absolutely thrilled to be writing again too!

tdinttwrt2016.03.06 - 04:24PM1: Chapter 1Signed
This is probably the first review ever written by someone who hasn't read a word yet...BUT CAN I JUST OMG SQUEEEEEE THAT YOU ARE POSTING NEW FIC??!!

Author's Response: LOL! Thank you! Okay, take a deep breath and read chapter one now. Chapter two is up now too, so let me know if you liked it once you've read it all. I have six more stories to post over the next few weeks. My muse has checked out of rehab and is showing up to work regularly again.

develish12016.03.06 - 02:41PM1: Chapter 1Signed
See, I told you your fans were just waiting for more fic :) Thanks for giving me the chance to read it first, I loved it, as always.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you for being my fantastic beta! I really value your wisdom and discerning eye, oh fixer of missing commas, run on sentences and skipped words.

destiny_ff2016.03.06 - 01:44PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Holy crap. I had no idea you were still writing. I saw an author alert from you and literally screamed.

Great story. Thank you for writing it. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'd forgotten how much fun it is to go through the process of writing, posting and reading the reviews. I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Doctor Who and its accoutrements are the property of the BBC, and we obviously don't have any right to them. Any and all crossover characters belong to their respective creators. Alas no one makes any money from this site, and it's all done out of love for a cheap-looking sci-fi show. All fics are property of their individual authors. Archival at this site should not be taken to constitute automatic archive rights elsewhere, and authors should be contacted individually to arrange further archiving. Despite occasional claims otherwise, The Blessed St Lalla Ward is not officially recognised by the Catholic Church. Yet.

Script for this archive provided by eFiction. Contact our archivists at help@whofic.com. Please read our Terms of Service and Submission Guidelines.