A Teaspoon And An Open Mind: A Doctor Who Fan Fiction Archive

Reviews For Hour of Darkness

Hellostarlight202016.09.12 - 09:45PM1: Chapter 1Signed
I had to read the whole series again after you posted the new Tardis-sode. I admit, it took me a couple days to work up to this last story. Sniffle. I love it just as much now as I did when first reading it. I very much hope you continue this, my heart breaks for the Doctor, but I have hope in Bad Wolf!

Author's Response: It is going to be continued, I promise. I just can't promise *when*.

BadWolfGirl012016.06.12 - 10:58PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Please don't tell me this is an abandoned 'verse? I LOVE IT BUT THE ANGST NO IM CRYING SHE'S THE BAD WOLF SHE HAS TO COME BACK AND POOR DOCTOR HE CANT NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Author's Response: Ptthh, you think this is angst? Be careful what you wish for...

SiobhanRiley2015.06.09 - 10:15PM1: Chapter 1Signed
I..Oh my god, this is perfect. I really, really hope you update again, because this should not go unwritten. I am dying to know what happens next and I'm beyond broken hearted at the loss of jackie

MuseofMusic012014.09.17 - 12:15AM1: Chapter 1Signed
It took me two nights to read all the stories in this series. I have yelled, I have laughed, I have cried and I have thrown things because of it. Your story invokes many emotions. I think I was upset more about Jackie dying then anything because Rose has to get back, she's the Bad Wolf.....Right? Great job with the rewrite and please, please please continue it. It would hurt too much to have something so good be abandoned. Cheers!!

ChristineK2014.06.01 - 03:42PM1: Chapter 1Signed
I'm traumatized and emotional and in utter shock but on, every word was perfect and heartbreaking. I'm curious about... well, many things, really lol, but mostly about the bond between Rose and the Doctor. OK, and Rose and what happens next! I can't wait to read more. This is such a beautifully written rewrite. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) the rest of the series is still in progress, but I\'m working on it! You\'ll know soonish, hah

HawkErin2014.04.10 - 09:06AM1: Chapter 1Signed
I really hope you aren't done with this.... Reading fan fic is what is finally making me like nine almost as much as ten ;) almost

Author's Response: Not done at all :-D I\'m planning on at least six, possibly more, of the S3 episodes.

veritascara2014.03.09 - 02:44PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Holy hell, I was expecting different, but Rose lost in the void?! I was not expecting that! It's going to take me a while to gather my wits back together. The Doctor needs his Rose. Glad Tommy is ok though, which means the Doctor at least has someone. Love that boy! (And the Angry Birds addiction was a nice touch.)

You've done an amazing job with this series, and I'm really glad you are back at writing. You do an incredible job with portraying each of the characters and clearly know Nine like the back of your hand. The changes in the storylines reflect his presence and different approach so well. I look forward to whatever else you're planning, and I'm guessing that Nine and Donna will be a riot together.

Author's Response: Funnily enough I\'ve had the \'Rose falls\' scene written since like early 2008, it was one of the first bits I actually wrote for this series. I love Tommy, and I\'ve been incredibly happy to have him along. Thank you so much for this review :)

bloose092014.02.10 - 09:30PM1: Chapter 1Signed
I am traumatized all over again only this time it hurts more because it was Nine and Rose is in the Void. The TARDIS recreating Jackie's flat and the Doctor filling it with their personal items was heartbreaking. I do like how the Doctor gave Rose the choice to go with Pete, even knowing it would probably kill him. Tommy is a very worthy companion and proves that in every episode. I always enjoy your dialog because it is entirely in character and so witty.

Donna and Nine should be a sass!fest of the highest order, but my heart is broken just that little bit more over Rose's fate and the pain it is causing the Doctor.

Thanks for posting.

Author's Response: This isn\'t the end of the series, don\'t give up hope entirely! I\'m glad that you enjoy it enough to care anyway :)

Rose_of_Zakarisz2014.02.10 - 02:22PM1: Chapter 1Signed
I'm excited to see how this plays out, especially with Donna and 9 interacting.... But... But... But, Rose!

Author's Response: Oh, I know! Donna/Nine/Tommy is gonna be awfully fun though.

JonNebula2014.02.09 - 09:45PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Absolutely fantastic!!! God this was so great I don't know what else to say other than I cannot wait for your next story!!! This was absolutely brilliant!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)

jer8322014.02.09 - 05:41PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Another brilliant story in an amazing and perfectly crafted series. You have everybody's voices and actions so true that I could see and hear them - especially Rose and the Doctor.

I LOVE the way you've written Rose - you've taken the best that BP brought to the character and used it as a paradigm for a marvelous heroine. "Fat lot of good you are!" He sagged against the desk, relief written in every inch of him. "How'd you know it was me?" "There's an invasion of Cybermen, who else is daft enough to phone?" She sounded out of breath, but not particularly frightened. No more so than to be expected anyway.
And every bit of interplay between Rose and the Doctor makes me grin, even in the middle of a Daleks v. Cybermen b-movie.

But this is what made the chapter for me: "You have no weapons!" "None," he agreed. "'Course, I've always preferred people to weapons. People are good for a lot more. For example, a weapon can only destroy. But a person can build. A person can create…" Personally, I'm taking this as your answer to all the 'the Doctor's companions are weapons, the Doctor is a murderer' rubbish of the new series. Thank you.





Author's Response: Thank you so much. This is really one of the nicest reviews I\'ve ever gotten. I love, love, love Rose, so I admit I tend to focus on her a bit more. And yes, that was kind of my answer to the \'the Doctor turns people into weapons\' thing. All he does is make them braver, what they do with the bravery is their own choices...

Dreamcatcher2014.02.09 - 02:22PM1: Chapter 1Signed
Very happy to see more in this wonderful series...love the dynamics between Nine and Rose...a bit of a smile during the conversation over Mickey's sex life but so much angst otherwise as you warned...I am hopeful for a fix-it.

Author's Response: Can\'t have the fix without the angst, yanno? My fluffy happyverse needed some drama. I\'m glad you liked it :)

Rev2014.02.09 - 12:15PM1: Chapter 1Signed
I love this series - Nine is my favourite.
But this chapter just hurt.
I can't wait to read more, though. Thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

Artist3692014.02.09 - 10:59AM1: Chapter 1Signed
I was totally hooked until you killed Rose. And then I was like Luke in the Empire Strikes back after learning Vader was his father. And now I'm totally sad, and don't know that I want to keep reading, brilliant as it is. But I see in the review below there might be a hint of Rose surviving. I hope that means she made herself immortal like Jack and she can come back. Promise me she's coming back and I can manage to read the rest, because other than that, it's brilliant!

Author's Response: Just...keep reading. Things will be okay ;)

ms sardonicus2014.02.09 - 09:19AM1: Chapter 1Signed
Absolutely brilliant rewrite of Doomsday! Loved it! Angst! Of course there's angst. It wouldn't be Nine if there wasn't angst. The ending absolutely broke my heart. Packing Jackie and Rose's belongings into the TARDIS and Nine's descent into guilt, agony and sadness.
As always, you have Nine/Rose's voices down to perfection and this story was just electric from start to finish. I absolutely LOVED this part, "What happened to 'we're bonded for life' and 'you couldn't leave me if you wanted to'?" "Might've killed me," he admitted, not meeting her eyes." Oh my poor Nine! Any coincidence that 'Hour of Darkness' and 'Times of Trouble' are bits of lyrics from "Let it Be"? Here's hoping you continue the series with Donna :)

Author's Response: I REALLY like the Beatles. About half my titles are Beatles lyrics. The next one is titled \'All the Lonely People\' after the line from Eleanor Rigby, haha. Donna will have her chance to shine, that\'s for certain.




Doctor Who and its accoutrements are the property of the BBC, and we obviously don't have any right to them. Any and all crossover characters belong to their respective creators. Alas no one makes any money from this site, and it's all done out of love for a cheap-looking sci-fi show. All fics are property of their individual authors. Archival at this site should not be taken to constitute automatic archive rights elsewhere, and authors should be contacted individually to arrange further archiving. Despite occasional claims otherwise, The Blessed St Lalla Ward is not officially recognised by the Catholic Church. Yet.

Script for this archive provided by eFiction. Contact our archivists at help@whofic.com. Please read our Terms of Service and Submission Guidelines.