A Teaspoon And An Open Mind: A Doctor Who Fan Fiction Archive

Reviews For The Finish Line

BeaX022017.10.24 - 04:20PM35: Chapter 34: NowSigned
well that was the most beautiful love confession i've EVER read :o

Dovostrebovanija2016.03.11 - 09:11AM37: Epilogue: Part 2Signed
Oh, god! I've just finished reading your story and I've registered here especially to write a thank-you review to you.
You are amazing! This hoke trilogy made me forget not only the books I'm currently reading, but also work, everyday business and even wacthing series.
You are not just very good at making readers scream with pain, gasp with horror and cry of delight and pleasure... You are actually a very talented writer: you invent absolutely real and beautiful characters and those which you take from the show talk and feel just as they feel in the show. The plot is also very well made, it keeps you on te edge of your seat (can I say it?). So I think you really should go on writing and make it your job (if you haven't done it yet) - I'm looking forward to watching a movie with your script someday!
Good luch and thank you SO, SO MUCH!!!

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank YOU so much! I'm so glad you loved reading this trilogy as much as I enjoyed writing it. Even years later, I love that people are still reading and reacting so much to it, and I'm especially honored that you made an account to let me know how much it impacted you. (Sorry about the screaming with pain and gasping with horror...hopefully the delight and pleasure made it worthwhile!)

tardisdonna410112015.06.30 - 03:20PM15: Chapter 14: TrappedSigned
This is one of those stories that makes you go, "How is the Doctor ever going to get out of this?"
And the Doctor needs a new supply of optimism-glue. I think Rose is more than happy to oblige.

Author's Response: Optimism-glue. I like that. :)

tardisdonna410112015.06.01 - 09:13PM11: Chapter 10: ChoiceSigned
SPAWN OF MOFFATISS.

But I was expecting this.

STILL, SPAWN OF MOFFATISS.

GAHHHHH!! I need chocolate, and Mishell.

Author's Response: Sorry. *gives chocolate*

tardisdonna410112015.06.01 - 09:10PM9: Chapter 8: SubmissionSigned
Can you not.. can you not... GAH! DOCTOR! This Time Lord needs a hug, right now, from Rose, before every Ten/Rose shipper has a nervous breakdown to match the Doctor's.

That woman needs something, too! Preferably a slap in the face. Preferably administered by one Rose Tyler.

Author's Response: Believe me, Rose would love nothing better than to do both of those things...

Heyitscarmen2015.04.26 - 11:54PM37: Epilogue: Part 2Signed
Your trilogy was, by far, some of the best writing I've read in a while. It was beautiful and heartbreaking and, as much as it hurts that it followed canon Doctor Who in the end (I was like holding my chest because I knew what was coming and I didn't want it to happen) it was so worth the pain. I hope that makes sense, haha! Thank you so much for writing this, it was fantastic!

Author's Response: Wow...thank you so, so much!!! Bringing it back to canon was painful for me as well, but it was too perfect an ending for me to pass up. And yes, that does make sense! :)

Lousia2015.01.06 - 04:59AM37: Epilogue: Part 2Signed
Wow! I think that about sums everything up.
I've been away from reading fanfiction for a while and ended up back here a couple of days ago. Just finished the trilogy and like I said the only word that works is Wow. Absolutely loved it and am now off to read more of your stuff. Thanks for keeping The Doctor and Rose alive in our hearts. (even if you do make us cry at times)

Author's Response: I\'m so glad you liked it, and thank you so much for taking the time to let me know! Sorry for the tears!

YellowBessie2014.09.20 - 11:47AM1: PrologueSigned
I absolutely ADORE this whole series (first found Mind Over Matter, then realized there was more and went back to the beginning.)
You're such an amazing writer! And do h/c like no one else.

Wanted to share a little headcannon I have about this story: Amara's a telepath, right? Imagine her using that as she tortures the Doctor. He's good at being stoic. He can control his body's reactions to pain (for a while). He doesn't plead out loud. But, in his head, he screams. He's so desperately alone (the TARDIS! Rose!). And so afraid. And exhausted. And it *hurts* so much he can't stop thinking about it. Even though he's stubbornly silent, she can hear it. Even though he doesn't cry out, she *knows* what she's doing to him.

Author's Response: Amara\'s telepathy mostly extended to link her to her own species, but I definitely think that she did her utmost to use it against the Doctor in whatever way she could. I put in a little possible reference to it in MoM, when the Doctor tells Cas that far more motivated individuals than he have attempted to break into his head. But yes, I think that with two telepaths under the same roof, both of whom have no other members of their species to link with, that Amara could have been able to \'listen in\' on some of the Doctor\'s internal pain. She\'d certainly have been motivated to attempt it. So congratulations, your headcanon just managed to make this story even more depressing for the Doctor. :)

TheLonelyCompanionn2014.09.09 - 08:06PM32: Chapter 31: RevelationSigned
One more for this and then I'm done. That song is going on infinite loop. It is the TARDIS. Bonus points for the bridge that uses the lyrics to the Firefly theme. I do wish she'd kept going with them, because my favorite line is the next one: "Take me out into the black, tell 'em I ain't comin' back, burn the land and boil the sea, you can't take the sky from me." :)

Also, this is what you and TRD have done to me. I was in denial all day today (as you could probably tell from that review) but about four hours ago it hit me and ever since then I've constantly felt like I'm on the verge of tears. I hope you cried when you wrote that. Otherwise we are going to have issues.

Author's Response: I\'m glad you think the song is the TARDIS too! I love it, and it\'s basically on infinite loop for me too! (And the Firefly theme! Serenity is my second favorite sci-fi ship.)

Well, I didn\'t cry, but that\'s mostly because I don\'t really physically cry over what I write or read. Never have. It\'s weird. But I do have strong emotional responses (Mishell\'s death practically sent me into a depression, and Mind Over Matter in general really should have sent me to therapy), and the end of that chapter was VERY difficult both to plot out and to write, especially given the fact that it\'s JACKIE and she\'s AWESOME and I HATE MY BRAIN SOMETIMES. I\'ve been sort of in shock all day after I posted it, which is saying something considering I knew it was coming. I hope that emotional response satisfactory is satisfactory. :P

TheLonelyCompanionn2014.09.09 - 02:19AM32: Chapter 31: RevelationSigned
I keep finding relatable song lyrics and posting them in reviews. Sorry! Here's the second verse and chorus of "Now or Never" by Josh Groban. The end of the song seems to suggest that everything didn't turn out right for the people in the song. Therefore, I didn't include it here. :P

"Sweeping eggshells still at 3am
We're trying far too hard
The tattered thought balloons above our heads
Sinking in the weight of all we need to say
Whys and what-ifs have since long played out
Left us short on happy endings

And it's no one's fault
There's no black and white
Only you and me
On this endless night
And as the hours run away
With another life, oh
Darling, can't you see it's now or never
It's now or never"


Author's Response: Wow, that\'s beautiful! Thank you for sharing.

I\'m always finding song lyrics to relate to my stories, or to the show in general. A newly discovered example I thought you might like, seeing as how you share my love for the TARDIS, is \"Good Old Girl\" by Marian Call. It could have been written about the TARDIS, and it\'s one of my new favorite songs as a result.

She\'s a good old girl
A good old girl
She\'s lived too long and seen too much
All over scabs and scars and such
But she\'s a pretty girl
Kinda pretty girl
If you cock your head and squint
If you recognise the prints of space and time...

The second verse is especially applicable as well...heck, the whole thing is...but I don\'t want to post the whole thing here, so I\'ll just leave it at that. Thanks for sharing the songs...I\'m always looking for new ones. :)

EranaJZ2014.07.29 - 02:20AM10: Chapter 9: BelieveSigned
I was doing a reread to pass the time between new updates and something occurred to me. You have the Doctor crossing his arms protectively while he has his talk with Rose. Literally the only time I ever remember Ten doing that is from that little scene from the 05 "Children in Need" special after he'd first regenerated and he's offering to take Rose home. To see it again here is just extra heart breaking. Sniff. Back to rereading. :)

Author's Response: Hadn\'t even noticed that...good point, and very heartbreaking. :(

TheLonelyCompanionn2014.06.13 - 07:03PM19: Chapter 18: AmaraSigned
When you replied to my review on a later chapter and said you imagined this final confrontation going with "Time" by Hans Zimmer, I hadn't seen Inception yet. Now I have. BRILLIANT movie on so many levels, but I digress. I just turned on "Time" in my head and read the confrontation again, and wow. It really fits perfectly. "LET HER SEE WHO YOU REALLY ARE" happens when the music swells to its highest point, and then when she turns the trigger on herself and he asks for her name it's the really quiet part at the end when the top is spinning on the table. Had to loop the piece a couple times to make it last through the whole thing, but it adds a whole new level of drama to the scene. Thanks for telling me about that!

Author's Response: It\'s one of those completely unintentional things that just worked PERFECTLY. Glad it worked for you too!

kayceein2014.03.17 - 09:02PM1: PrologueSigned
Whoa. That bottom bookend is punch in the gut good.


Author's Response: Thanks! I love that quote, terrible as it is to think about...

Vicky Smith2014.03.15 - 09:42AM1: PrologueSigned
I am going to repeat the previous reviewer... I have just read the trilogy in one day - and it was a complete pleasure ( obviously not all the pain and separation, death, fear... the pleasure was in the writing, you took me on a complete journey. I had a relationship with every single character - healthy or otherwise. I felt that I could see them, that I knew them - not just Rose and the Doctor - but all the original characters that you introduced too. And I really, really love Jackie Tyler - I have said many times before, she is one of the best creations ( and definitely in my top ten all-time characters ) to have come from the World of Who - RTD did well there - and your portrayal of her was just spot on, completely. I am sorry not to leave individual reviews, but I really didn't want to break my concentration or focus on your story. I really, really was absorbed by it. Well done you!

Author's Response: I still can\'t believe people are actually willing to endure this whole trilogy in a single day! Talk about an emotional roller coaster.

Thank you so much for your kind words. Getting to know the characters has always been one of my main goals in these stories, whether they\'re Who characters or my own creations, so I\'m so glad that you were able to connect with them. And I agree, Jackie is awesome, and I definitely learned to appreciate her more through writing these stories. Thank you again!

TheLonelyCompanionn2014.01.17 - 10:57AM37: Epilogue: Part 2Signed
So yeah. In case you were wondering what it's like to read the trilogy in two days (which is what I did on my first read), it's brutal beyond words. And then you get to this epilogue, the end of it all, and you're laughing, and you're hoping you won't cry at the end because you've shed so many tears already, but then that scene happens and you're a mess. Everything hits you so quickly and happens so fast, but you don't give yourself time to recover because you need to know what happens next, need the Doctor and Rose safe, need them to say those Seven Words before Doomsday. I really don't advise reading it in two days unless you're on break, because it took me several days to recover. Even now, nearly a month later, I can't read Moving Forward again because I can't bring myself to read about Mishell in the present tense.

But I don't regret it. It was so. good. Definitely the best fic I have ever read. It's so intense, but it gives us room to breathe, to slow down and think, to laugh, even. It's respectful of the characters and canon (even if most of us aren't happy with that last one) but still asserts itself as its own story. And it's wonderful and heartbreaking, and just like the show, you don't understand how you could possibly love something that hurts so much. And just like the show, the only thing you can say is that it's worth it.

Author's Response: Wow. I\'m honestly humbled by your reviews and the fact that it impacted you so much. Everything that you\'ve said is what I hoped this story would accomplish, and I am so happy to hear that it means so much to people. I can\'t imagine reading the whole thing over two days...I wrote this trilogy over the course of about 3 months, and that was emotionally draining enough!

Oh, Mishell. The hard part for me was that I knew as soon as I came up with the character what her ultimate fate would be. So all her characterization in Moving Forward, everything she does and thinks and says...all of it was written in the knowledge of how her story would end, and it was so incredibly ominous and depressing. The more I wrote her, the more I loved her, and the more my readers did as well, and as I saw more and more people getting attached to her, I knew that it was going to be more painful than I ever anticipated. My goal from the start was to make her sacrifice matter...to make her seem like more than just the obligatory OC who dies because of course I can\'t kill off the canon characters...to make people feel. And I succeeded...perhaps too well.

Thank you for taking the time to read all of this, and for leaving me reviews to let me see your thoughts as you did so. I love seeing people\'s reactions to individual scenes as much as I do seeing their reaction to the entire story. So thank you...and I hope that you enjoy (well, maybe \'enjoy\' is the wrong word for a story like that, but you know what I mean) MOM as well! See you then!




Doctor Who and its accoutrements are the property of the BBC, and we obviously don't have any right to them. Any and all crossover characters belong to their respective creators. Alas no one makes any money from this site, and it's all done out of love for a cheap-looking sci-fi show. All fics are property of their individual authors. Archival at this site should not be taken to constitute automatic archive rights elsewhere, and authors should be contacted individually to arrange further archiving. Despite occasional claims otherwise, The Blessed St Lalla Ward is not officially recognised by the Catholic Church. Yet.

Script for this archive provided by eFiction. Contact our archivists at help@whofic.com. Please read our Terms of Service and Submission Guidelines.