A Teaspoon And An Open Mind: A Doctor Who Fan Fiction Archive

Reviews For Step by Step

tardisdonna410112015.07.01 - 02:04PM8: Chapter 7: ShatteredSigned
I (against my better judgment) did a search for broken legs, and yeah. Not pleasant.
One question: did the barely-sentient animals who did this to poor Ten have requirements? Like, did they have to draw out the torture for multiple days before dispatching Ten, or could they just do whatever they wanted?
And this quote finally made me break down and grab the tissue box:
"The Doctor’s life was one of constant movement. He was born to run. And that had been taken away from him, in the cruelest way possible."
The Doctor needs to run. He HAS to run, or he'd go insane. And now he can't. *sobs until the end of time*

Author's Response: Um...I think the requirements were basically "Make it hurt and make it last. And make sure he cannot get away." Cheerful, eh?

Also, WHY WOULD YOU SEARCH THAT?! I WARNED YOU!!!

TheLonelyCompanionn2014.01.14 - 11:57PM21: EpilogueSigned
Yay, I can review this now! Just like with WTA, this is my second read of SbS. How I convinced myself to read this again, I'll never know. But anyway.

I tell you what an amazing author you are on a regular basis, so I won't go into that here. I'd just like to thank you for a couple things. First of all, Jackie Tyler. Thank you, thank you, thank you. She was so well-written, and you showed the change in her that the show left out. Also, you made me like a character who annoyed me and that's hard to do.

Second, the TARDIS. I looooooove the concept of the TARDIS as a character. The show tried to make an arc out of Clara's relationship with the TARDIS, but then they just stopped and all of a sudden she can snap her fingers to close the doors?? What?? Anyway, I always love reading the TARDIS's interactions with the other characters (it might actually be my favorite thing about your stories).

And finally, thank you for this epilogue. So so much. I can't express how much I love this epilogue. It needed to happen that way. :)

I'm off to read the beginning of Moving Forward...don't know if I can read the entire story again but I'll review it anyway. :P happy birthday!

Author's Response: Thank you! I wanted to do Jackie justice, because there are some glimpses of a strong character underneath her \'Jackie-ness\' in the show, and I wanted to explore that here.

I love the TARDIS as a character too, and I wanted so badly to love what they tried to do with Clara and the ship, but it seemed so random. Why Clara and not, say, Martha or Donna? Why had this never ever happened before? And yeah, just dropping it was a waste of a good plotline. However, we did get some great moments out of their scenes, so I\'m not complaining too much!

That epilogue...it could only have ever ended that way, in my opinion. In the very beginning, this story was just conceived as a standalone (how times have changed!). So this really was the ENDING, and I was quite proud of how it turned out. Even now that the \'verse has grown incredibly, it still stands up well, and I\'m so glad you like it.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review everything. It really does mean a lot to me to see what people think. :)

Jellyneau2014.01.07 - 02:03AM21: EpilogueSigned
I d never come across this series until you posted your most recent story and referenced it...and I'm so glad you did! I was late for work this morning, though, having read WAY too far into the wee hours of the morning last night! Anyhow...I had to comment even though this was posted a good while ago... This story is fantastic! Loved the Doctor and Rose together and the poor Doctor's ordeal was handled so well. Once again... Loved it! I. Looking forward now to the rest of the series!

Author's Response: I\'m so glad that you found this series, and thank you so much for reading! I am sorry you were late for work! And I love comments so don\'t worry about reviewing so long after it was posted...reviews make me very happy.

EranaJZ2013.12.30 - 03:54PM21: EpilogueSigned
Since you posted your prologue I decided to go back and do a reread of this series, only to realize I never actually left a review for it, which is just horrible of me. My only defense is I believe I read most of your earlier stories on my phone, and I'm horrible at typing without a proper keyboard.

Anyways, while there is no shortage of tenth doctor angst and torture on this site, what's always set your stories apart from most of the rest, for me, is how perfectly you manage to get the voices just right. There's not a single line of dialogue that I can't hear Tennant, Piper, etc. saying in my head. And that's something so very few stories manage. Of course the plot and pacing and story itself are all brilliant, but it's the characterization that makes this series in particular such a joy to read. Thanks so much for writing it, and continuing it now. I may not be the most consistent of reviewers out there, but know I've adored each bit you've written. As long as you keep writing I'll be reading. :)

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much! The character voices have always been something I try to get right, and I\'m so glad that it pays off. The dialogue is one of my favorite parts, both of the show and of my own stories, so it always makes me happy when I manage to get it right.

As for reviewing, don\'t worry too much! While I love reviews and seeing what people have to say, just knowing people are still reading and enjoying these stories makes my day almost every day! :)

math_not_ink2013.11.26 - 06:43PM5: Chapter 4: AgonySigned
You are cruel, but I'm an American, Yes, I would have shot him, and kept the gun.

Author's Response: I\'m American too, and I\'m glad you agree! As for being cruel...can\'t really argue that one. Thanks for commenting!

SciFiFanForever2013.06.26 - 01:44AM1: PrologueSigned
Awesome story! I was hooked from the start and you reeled me in. I love the dynamic between the Doctor, Rose and Jackie, so believable. Well done.
P.S Can't wait to find out who's got it in for him.

Author's Response: So glad you love it! I\'ve always loved their dynamic, so I\'m glad I was able to capture it!

silvanelf2013.06.04 - 02:50PM21: EpilogueSigned
LOVE this story!!! Brilliant from start to finish-especially loved how the Doctor took care of the people who tortured him. And Jackie, much much love for her. Awesome characterization. So glad I stumbled across this story! :)

Author's Response: So glad you stumbled across it too! I\'m so happy you enjoyed it so much! :D

Julianna Calavicci2012.11.14 - 08:38PM1: PrologueSigned
Wow. All I have to say is Wow. I sat and read the whole story in one sitting and I think it's absolutely fantastic. Good job!

Author's Response: Double post. :)

Julianna Calavicci2012.11.14 - 08:38PM1: PrologueSigned
Wow. All I have to say is Wow. I sat and read the whole story in one sitting and I think it's absolutely fantastic. Good job!

Author's Response: Oh, wow, that\'s quite an accomplishment! So, so glad you liked it!

Arnie_Rocks2012.10.16 - 09:11PM21: EpilogueSigned
I don't know what I was expecting. Of course I'd be devastated! Of course it'd break my heart! Of course I would end up doing exactly what you told and not to, and I'd google the bloody broken legs pictures. Poor Doctor! I was, naturally, cringing the whole time. I felt so sorry for him! Poor, poor thing. And JACKIE! Jackie was wonderful in this. I just love it, and now I'll hurry to read the rest! Yay! You are brilliant! :D

Author's Response: Yay! So glad you liked it!!!! Yeah, sorry about the google thing, but I DID warn you. I loved Jackie in this as well, and I was so happy to give her a chance to shine. Have fun with the others!

shelwass2012.10.05 - 01:27AM21: EpilogueSigned
Just found this story today and read the whole thing. :) Really, really good!!! Can't wait to get to the other stories in the series!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I\'m so glad you liked it, and I hope you like the others as much!!! :D

10lover2011.12.22 - 10:20AM1: PrologueSigned
Wow! This was a wonderful story. I read the whole thing in one day, but I read it on my phone so wasn't able to give chapter by chapter reviews. I don't know how I missed this, but I'm going on to the next one and the one after that! Your characterizations rang so true. I loved Jackie in this. She so rarely gets the attention she deserves. And the injuries the Doctor got were so believable they made me ache. Marvelous. I'm looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Yay! A new reader! So, so happy you liked it so much!!! Especially the characterizations, because they are some of the most important parts to me. And Jackie definately gets neglected a lot. Thanks so much!!! Hope you like the others too!

RiverKentValley2011.12.02 - 06:26PM19: Chapter 18: FinallySigned
Brilliant! He got his cast off!!! And doesn't have to be in the wheel chair!!

I love all the quotes that are in this, they are so true.

But, here is one that The Doctor said once: Courage isn't just a matter of not being frightened, you know. It's being afraid and doing what you have to do anyway. - Planet of the Daleks

Great story!!

Author's Response: Oh, that\'s perfect!!! I\'ve never heard that one, but it\'s great! And lines up perfectly with those other quotes. YAY! And thank you!

grigor2011.11.19 - 11:21AM1: PrologueSigned
How did I miss this for so long? Read it all in one go, fantastic characterisation, great story. I've favourited you.

Author's Response: Thank you! So, so glad you liked it that much!

10timelord4ever2011.11.16 - 01:37PM1: PrologueSigned
Wow, I can see why this story got so many reviews now. Nice start! I can't wait to read more, especially to discover why these horrible people are torturing poor Ten. And now that you've got the sequel out...I've just got to read them all right now! :)

Author's Response: I\'m still stunned by the response to this story!!! It\'s been incredible, and I just hope the sequels can live up to everyone\'s expectations! So glad you\'re enjoying it!




Doctor Who and its accoutrements are the property of the BBC, and we obviously don't have any right to them. Any and all crossover characters belong to their respective creators. Alas no one makes any money from this site, and it's all done out of love for a cheap-looking sci-fi show. All fics are property of their individual authors. Archival at this site should not be taken to constitute automatic archive rights elsewhere, and authors should be contacted individually to arrange further archiving. Despite occasional claims otherwise, The Blessed St Lalla Ward is not officially recognised by the Catholic Church. Yet.

Script for this archive provided by eFiction. Contact our archivists at help@whofic.com. Please read our Terms of Service and Submission Guidelines.