A Teaspoon And An Open Mind: A Doctor Who Fan Fiction Archive

Reviews For Sense

Shea2014.03.26 - 07:08PM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
This was a wonderful story! Thank you for sharing it. :-)

RunYouCleverBoy2014.01.19 - 07:19PM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
I have absolutely loved this story from beginning to end. Well done!!! ;-)

Novemberchild2012.04.14 - 04:05PM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
Read this in an afternoon and - absolutely amazing. The plot, the dynamics, all wonderful.

“Because I could really use a hug right about now.” really dissolved me into tears, too.

TextbookEnigmatic2011.08.08 - 11:34PM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
I am thankful to have found this story. Four some years later and it still packs a hella powerful punch. I hope you're still writing out there, somewhere.


LN292011.05.27 - 11:17AM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
So powerful, so painful, yet so well written that it stays with you long after you've finished it. All of their voices were perfect, and this story remains one of my absolute favorites on Teaspoon, even all this time later, so I decided I'd leave a review to tell you how much I loved it!

pipkinsweetgrass2011.05.02 - 08:32PM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
I Loved this story! Loved it, I tell you. I wish I had reviewed each chapter but I was so hooked I couldn't stop. I love the way you write Jack's love for the Doctor. It's true and romantic, unlike so many that have him as a rutting beast just out to get a piece of Time-lord ass. I loved how you made the Doctor's pain so deep and so real, as deep and real as Jack and Rose's pain at having to witness and even participate. I loved Jackie being a Mum to our sweet Doctor when he so needed one, right down to her fussing about the lollies! I loved Kissing!Doctor, especially when it made Jack go all wobbly, LOL. I loved the s'mores. I loved the Doctor marking his lovers with a "D". I just adore the artwork at the end of the story...And I loved the story-after-the-story @ LJ. Just in case you didn't read the review there, here it is:
I've become such a fan of your work! Somehow you make it clear that along with passion comes a sweet innocence I've found all too rare in fanfic. I'm primarily a Jacktor girl, but your work with 10/Jack/Martha in Loophole and again with 10/Jack/Rose has made a believer out of me. I want to hug all three of them! And I adored snogging!Doctor. The only thing that could have made the story better would have been if the Doctor replaced Jack's beloved coat with a new one, preferably with the surprise of wearing it to bed. And nothing else. But even so...I truly love your work!!

JennyLeigh2010.12.05 - 01:47PM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
What a fantastically beautiful story. I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. The Doctor's pain and suffering - it was written so perfectly. I love how you didn't shy away from the healing afterwards. Can't wait to read more of your writing!

AuglereDeRosenkinde2009.12.30 - 01:56AM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
YAY! WHat everyone else said! WOw what a trip!!!

Padfootrawr2008.12.02 - 05:57PM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
This has got to be the best plotted, and most well written fic for Doctor Who i have EVER read.
I absolutely loved it, and it is very unique to look at the Doctor in such a vunerable state, but you portrayed it perfectly, and showed the relationship between him and his two companions beautifully!
Loved it. Absolutely, bloody loved it!
xxx

Cybergirl052008.09.10 - 02:47PM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
That was really great! It was so strange to see the Doctor so helpless but so right to see how much he believed in Jack and Rose through it all. And that bonfire was a perfect finish! Really great story! Thanks.

Author's Response: I\'m glad you enjoyed it so much! And thank you for commenting, it was fun to see your reactions to different parts of the story. :-)

Grym2008.04.21 - 09:02AM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
Oh, brilliant. I'm sorry not to have reviewed as I read, but it's far too engaging to stop periodically. I found this on someone's favorites list and am so glad to have finally settled down to give it a try. (I tend to be more of a Nine grrrl, but Ten has finally grown on me enough. And the OT3 makes this a winner, either way.)

I'm always surprised there's so little Doctor-whump in the fandom -- or perhaps I just haven't found it. This is beautifully done, with a great balance between the terrifiying hurt and the slow, but gratifying comfort. The chemical blindfold is a hideous device, and my heart went out to the Doctor particularly when his time sense and connection with the TARDIS failed. Utter isolation. His panic was believable and neccessary. Rose and Jack's torment for him played in counterpoint, horrible and gut-wrenching. And of course, it makes the successful recovery at the end all the sweeter. As sweet as chocolate and marshmallows. (Adorable scene. Silly and poignant and close.)

I loved so many little touches throughout. The distinction between Nine and Ten by which sense was dominant. (Brilliant. I never thought about it that way, but Ten does seem to tap into the telepathy -- and of course the oral fixation -- while Nine exercised more natural control over time, and was really very attuned to touch.) Jackie's motherly response and Ten's almost desperate acceptance of it. The garden and the rich red grass of Gallifrey. The characterization of the TARDIS and the combined voices ("distress/comfort").

Rich, intelligently written, well-characterized. Far too much hurt/comfot fic fails in capturing the genuine depth of characterization, the intricacies of emotional relationship. You, however, excel in this! I look forward to reading more of your work. Thank you for the effort it took to provide me with one of my favorite stories. :)

Author's Response: Well, if you want Doctor-whump, you\'ve certainly come to the right place! Thank you so much for this review... I loved reading about the little touches you enjoyed. I\'m especially pleased that you mentioned the sense distinction between Nine and Ten! It\'s a pet theory of mine that has spawned plot bunnies like you wouldn\'t believe. ::g:: Thank you for reading, and writing such a wonderful review! :-D

Melina2008.04.15 - 05:10PM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
I really enjoyed this -- it holds together well throughout, which is quite a feat for such a long story. The emotional center is at the heart of it, though, which is why it works so well for me.

Author's Response: I\'m glad you enjoyed it! Ultimately, the emotion was what I was trying to write about. (Well, that and the sheer whumpy h/c.) Thank you for reviewing! :-)

TARDIS_stowaway2008.02.01 - 03:27AM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
This just got a rec over at the LJ community calufrax, and damn that rec was deserved! I feel like I've just been on an emotional roller coaster.

It was terrifying to see the Doctor brought so low and then have the companion's means of comfort twisted against him. I liked how Jackie's maternal loving was a vital part of his recovery, an interesting change from the many fics where the love of Rose and Jack is a magic wand to fix everything. The TARDIS is a strong character here, with a will and emotions of her own.

The group hug and s'mores at the end nearly brought me to tears of happiness. Writing initials with chocolate was a brilliant way to bridge the gesture that had helped them through the worst times with the joy at the return of the Doctor's other senses.

Author's Response: I\'m glad you liked the story. I tried to tell it \'real\' and avoid the typical fanfic cliches of instant magic healing. And, well... I love Jackie. Thank you so much for reviewing! :-)

figaro2007.12.13 - 09:57AM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
I have loved this story from start to finish - I found it very true on a psychological level, and I could really believe each character would react the way they did, do the things they did. May I especially mention the Doctor feeling the pulses? A brillilantly imaginative idea and I believed it of him completely! Big round of applause from me.

Author's Response: I\'m glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing. :-)

Requialexa2007.08.21 - 11:08PM15: Recovering ThingsSigned
That was a brilliant and touching ending that almost had me in tears at the hug line. The whole series was delightfully original, in character, and the writing really reached out to all the senses, adding depth to an already satisfying story! Thank You!

Author's Response: I\'m happy to hear that the story touched all the senses. I tried to get as many meanings of the word \'sense\' in as I could, both noun and verb, covering all the different kinds of senses. I\'m glad it worked! Thank you for reviewing. :-)




Doctor Who and its accoutrements are the property of the BBC, and we obviously don't have any right to them. Any and all crossover characters belong to their respective creators. Alas no one makes any money from this site, and it's all done out of love for a cheap-looking sci-fi show. All fics are property of their individual authors. Archival at this site should not be taken to constitute automatic archive rights elsewhere, and authors should be contacted individually to arrange further archiving. Despite occasional claims otherwise, The Blessed St Lalla Ward is not officially recognised by the Catholic Church. Yet.

Script for this archive provided by eFiction. Contact our archivists at help@whofic.com. Please read our Terms of Service and Submission Guidelines.